Levin’s Hair Pomade “Super Soft” Blue

Yesterday before I got my hair cut, well got my part fixed, but my barber lined me up too, I wanted to try out some Levin’s Hair Pomade. I went for the “Super Soft” first, as I usually do when I’m reviewing a brand, I go for the lightest hold first. I really have no idea why I do this, but I do.

20121008-131508.jpg

It comes in a really old school style can. It’s a small, shallow can, probably only holds 2oz in it. It has just the one label on the top which is blue in color. The other holds have the same label, just different colors. It says “Levin’s Hair Pomade” just above a bald eagle. On the left side of the eagle it distinguishes the hold and says “Super Soft,” on the right side it has the volume which is 85ml. Around the outer edge of the label it has some writing that says “*levins high quality hair pomade *makes your hair look sleazy & greazy *made in sweden” then lists the ingredients.

20121008-132243.jpg

Opening the tin up you see a vibrant yellow pomade. The color is similar to grey poupon mustard. My wife said it looked like banana pudding. I guess those two are kind of close in color. The smell is very different from any pomade I’ve smelled before. To me it smells like the little ‘tea light’ candles, but an olive oil scented one.

20121008-132406.jpg

Scooping it out of the tin was a breeze. It’s definitely the softest pomade I’ve scooped out of a tin so far. It’s texture is about half as soft as Tres Flores, and softer than Royal Crown Hair Dressing.

Putting it in my hair was like combing in a tonic. It’s by far the easiest thing I’ve ever worked into my hair. It’s so soft and easy to work in I recommend only using a fine tooth comb to work it in. I tried using the wide toothed end of my styling comb and it just didn’t work for me. I could only get a decent combing in by using the fine toothed end.

20121008-132557.jpg

Now because this stuff is so soft I wasn’t really able to get any height to my hair. So I did the best I could to make it look decent. I didn’t slick it back or do a gentleman’s part, I just styled a mini pomp, kind of. I tried to get height with it cause I put it in my hair when it was damp, but it just didn’t work. Oh well, I will definitely use this as a topper for my strong hold pomades. I got a lot of compliments on the smell of my hair though!

20121008-132637.jpg

Overall, I didn’t really like this stuff as a stand alone product, but it will work great as a topper! So for you guys that regularly use base coats and toppers, this one would be a good one to have.

Til next time.

-JC

Leave a Reply

