DAX Green and Gold

Hey guys today I’m reviewing one of the DAX products, I’m going with green and gold. This is probably one of my favorite products by this company. Which may be the reason I went with this one first over their lightest, short and neat.

20121104-161717.jpg

This one comes in their usual colored, slip cover metal tins. The colors on this one are a vibrant royal green background and gold writing. It’s got the name on the lid and the front of the tin and on the back it has the directions. The bottom of the tin has the ingredients and all the companies information. It’s a bright yellow pomade, almost as bright as highlighter. I’ve never seen a pomade this color before, but the neon is a cool touch! A light, sweet floral scent is what your net with when you sniff this one. Not a foofy floral, but more like the subtleness of roses or a flower like that. Pretty good scent, definitely unique too.

20121104-161836.jpg

Getting it out of the tin was awesome! It has a really nice waxy consistency but it’s not super stiff or tacky it’s actually got kind of a silky texture to it. But you can tell from the texture that you’re going to get a really good hold with this wax. It gets a little stickier in your palms though, but comes off easily and doesn’t just stick on the first part of your hair that you run your hands over. It actually coats your hair nicely and fairly evenly.

20121104-161950.jpg

This stuff has really decent hold to it too, and is pretty malleable. It held my hair nice and high, but wasn’t rigid. You’re also able to comb this pomade multiple times throughout the day if you want to. It tames all the little flyaways and cowlicks very well too. You can see the hairs on the side of my head are slicked really close.

20121104-162047.jpg

This pomade is great for all kinds of styles. It reminds me of Bees Knees Pomade with the way it works great for slick-backs, comb-overs, pomps, parts and wedges. Definitely a great and versatile pomade, which is why it’s my favorite DAX product. Plus, it has a little shine to it along with its hold making a really fantastic product in my eyes.

20121104-162112.jpg

My recommendation is to head over to their website and grab a tin
http://www.imperialdax.com
And while you’re there check out everything else they have over at DAX. They have a lot of great products from hair creams to shampoos to waxes and everything in between. Great company!

Cheers

-JC

This entry was posted in Pomades.

10 comments on “DAX Green and Gold

  1. Society's Disposable Son says:

    I just got this and Murray’s Nu Nile In.. So far I’m pretty stoked on the Dax haven’t tried the Nu Nile yet. Also got the Layrite comb that I was skeptical on but I’d say is worth the $10

    • jchmotox57 says:

      Yeah Green and Gold is awesome. Nu Nile is pretty great too. If you like g&g you’ll dig nu nile. I haven’t tried the layrite comb, I just couldn’t justify $10 for one comb. Especially since it’s not like a hand carved tortoise shell KENT comb or something like that. What makes that comb so great? Just curios as to how it’s worth the $10, being as I haven’t tried it.

      -JC

      • Society's Disposable Son says:

        RE: Layrite comb.. I like the handle and for me it makes doing a part and stuff way easier and slicks the hair down more where I kinda had to make an effort to slick it down tight because of the angle I held a regular comb… the only other fine toothed combs that have handles I’ve seen around are those weak rat tail thin handled combs. Also it is thick and sturdy even compared to some DAX combs my buddy gave me from his last trip to Viva Las Vegas.

      • jchmotox57 says:

        Hmmm, I think I may have to contact mike over at layrite and get ahold of one of those combs. Thanks for the info on it. What kind if DAX combs did you get? I’ve never seen any on their site and Don has never told me about any combs they have.

        -JC

  2. samhain says:

    Dax has some fairly standard 5″ fine toothed combs with gold lettering…they just seemed thicker and sturdier than the usuall store boughts

  3. aiden nguon says:

    hey man, i was wondering how dax green & gold compares to dax wave & groom, in terms of hold, shine, etc.

    • jchmotox57 says:

      It holds better for me, but doesn’t have quite as much shine. Applies way easier and recombs easier too. Washes out a lot faster and easier as well. I like the scent of wave and groom better though. Hope that helps.

      -JC

  4. Wayne says:

    I bought this pomade after JC saved me from an excruciating dilemma of thoughtful choosing between this, HL Heavy, or CG XXXX since pomades here costs 3x the price than on their websites. And i have to say this pomade is jawdropping. The scooping was surprisingly eaaasy, the application was perfectly amusing (as JC said, doesn’t just stick on the first hair part), and the hold is awesome too, way better than Nu Nile for me. But for me, the trade off is the scent, DAX use tobacco scent and it’s 100% identical to local cigarettes here in Indonesia if you sniff it right from the box, not my kind of smell though. But it’s okay since the strength is still tolerable, and the buildup is also good.
    Thanks for the suggestion, JC!

Leave a Reply

