Barber Side – Shave Oil (lemon)

Finally back with another Barber Side product! This time I’m checking out their pre-shave oil. They sent me two of them, but the post man took the liberty of smashing the package up good enough for one of the bottles to break. So I’m checking out the only one I have, their lemon one.

This one comes in a badass little clear glass bottle with a black screw top lid. The bottle reminds me of a small size cologne bottle or something. It’s pretty much just a 2″x2″ square and is about 1/2″ thick. It has stickers on both sides of it.

20130510-001218.jpg

The front side sticker has the Barber Side logo and name in the center. Above that it says “ESTd. 2007” and around the edge is a black line for the border. At the bottom it indicates the scent, in this case lemon. Then it says “Pre Oil-Up shave oil” and has the volume amount. Super simple and awesome. I love their labeling a lot, it’s very classic.

20130510-001245.jpg

On the back side is the name and logo again at the top. Then it has the directions for use. Underneath the directions is the ingredient list. And at the very bottom is the company’s info. I almost forgot to mention that the barber pole razor logo on these labels is in color. It’s really hard to see in the picture but there is the iconic blue and red stripes on the barber pole. I really like their logo, it’s very unique, yet iconic at the same time.

20130510-001311.jpg

When I unscrewed the lid I was really surprised to see this oil filled to the brim! Usually there is a bit of a gap between the top of the oil and the top of the bottle. But like most of their other products you really get some bang for your buck! You can see the yellowish clear oil through the glass bottle. The scent on it is a very subtle lemon scent with a slight soapy scent too. It kind of slightly resembles their shave cream.

20130510-001337.jpg

Pouring it out you have to be careful because of how full it is. I poured a little more than I wanted to, but if you do it’s not a big deal. Just wash the excess off your hands after you apply the oil to your face. This oil is quite a bit thicker than the others I’ve tried so far. It feels about as thick, maybe even a little thicker than mineral oil is. We will see if the thicker consistency helps with smoothing out the shave or not.

As I ran my hands over my face I notice a difference right off the bat. It was easier to apply and spread across my face and neck. I was able to make it go pretty far as well. I ended up have a bit left on my hands after applying. Like the Suavecito oil this one soaked into my skin pretty quickly. It didn’t completely soak in though. It left a nice coating on top of my skin to aid in smoothing out my shave.

20130510-001359.jpg

I decided to use this oil while I review a new razor to see how it works with a brand new product. I also used it with my standard razor as well. Both times I noticed a significant smoothness to my shave. My razors just glided across my face with hardly any effort. I am really pleased with this oil. Not surprised though, the folks over at Barber Side make great products.

I definitely highly recommend picking up a bottle of this oil! You get a generous helping of it in the jar plus it works fantastically! It’s the best shave oil I’ve used so far. To get ahold of it just head on over to their site
http://www.barberside.com
They have more than one scent so if your not into lemon you can try another one. Look at their other products while you’re there because these guys make awesome products!!! Definitely worth picking their stuff up. Thanks again for the stuff guys I really appreciate it!

Keep it clean guys,

-JC

4 comments on “Barber Side – Shave Oil (lemon)

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger
    if you aren’t already ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cheers!

  2. tripod gopro says:

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can’t to find your email
    subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any?
    Kindly permit me know in order that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

