MCC • Cream • DX – Aftershave Cream

Well it’s about that time I check out another aftershave cream. This one comes from the Cool Grease company. It’s their MCC • Cream • DX. Regina sent me this one a little while ago after she had gotten a lot of good feedback from her clients about it. Let’s see how it holds up.

20130521-003218.jpg

It comes in the same type of tub as the pomades do, only this one is a little bigger. My guess is it is a 5oz tub. It’s white with black ink printed right on the tub just like the pomades. The lid is a very simple design, and I really dig the black and white look, very old school and classy. It just says “MCC • Cream • DX” around the edge and has a sailor shaving with his knife in the center. Very cool lid logo in my opinion. This company has the coolest labeling!

The front of the tub has the name of the cream again then says “after shaving cream” below the name. This time the sailor in the center is rubbing his face as to apply the cream. To his left it says “right now good fragrance,” hmm sounds familiar. To the right of him is “grooms skin perfectly” we will see of that’s true. There is also “classic” to the right of him as well. As you turn the tub you see the cool grease logo in red just above a little quib. It also has “dispose of properly” and “made in Japan” over there. The end of this labeling is their standard Japanese ingredient list and barcode. But to the left of the front design is the sailor guy shaving again. Above him is the name and “natural flavor.” Natural flavor? I think they mean scent/smell. Below him it says “after shaving” and “Tokyo Japan.” I love how they lay out these labels, they’re really rad!

20130521-003312.jpg

As you unscrew the lid you see a creamy light yellow substance. It reminds me of the Johnny B street cream in color and look. It’s not as shiny as that stuff though. The scent of this one is a strong menthol scent but its more of a medicated cream menthol than like an essential oil menthol. It reminds me of this medical arthritis ointment my grandmother used to use when I was a kid. It reminded me of spending summers with her and my dad and her using it every day. Not a scent I like or dislike because I’ve smelled it so often so I’m kind of indifferent to it.

20130521-003340.jpg

Getting some of this cream out of the tub was different than most creams. It felt more like thick lotion than aftershave cream. It also didn’t have the whipped consistency like the Suavecito stuff did. This one was very creamy, almost like a pudding. When you rub your hands together the scent explodes! It was almost irritating my eyes it was so strong. I wonder what it’s going to be like on my face! It gets kind of thinner in your hands when you spread it around. But not overly lotiony or anything.

20130521-003420.jpg

As soon as I put it on my face my eyes started clinching on their own due to the extra strong menthol. And my skin felt like it was in a walk-in freezer. Yeah it has that strong of a cooling effect! It kind of acted like a vanishing cream too. Although most of it soaked in right away there was some residue left on my skin that needed to either be rubbed in or left to soak in.

20130521-003447.jpg

Over the course of getting ready and driving to church I noticed that the cooling sensation didn’t really go away. It took a good 30 to 40 minutes for my face to stop tingling!! I was really surprised at the stamina of the cooling effect if this cream. At one point I wondered to myself “is this going to last all day or what?” I’m still on the fence about whether I liked that long of a cooling effect or not. You guys will have to judge that for yourselves. I did notice that my face was significantly softer using this one as opposed to other aftershave creams.

Overall it is a decent aftershave cream. I’m not too crazy about the scent or the fact that it bothers my eyes when I apply it. I do like the cooling effect of it, but I don’t know if I like the fact that it lasts for 30 to 40 minutes. I absolutely love the packaging, however! So for me it’s just a so-so product. It has its ups and downs. I can see myself using it again but I don’t know how often I would use it. But if it’s something that you would like that I suggest getting a tub of it, because it’s made by a pretty good company. You will soon be able to find it off the website http://www.hairgoop.com
I know that they’re still having some technical issues with getting the site up and running, but I’m sure that it will be up very soon. Thank you again Regina for sending this out to me, it was an awesome experience! I also really appreciate your support!!

Stay fresh fellas,

-JC

One comment on “MCC • Cream • DX – Aftershave Cream

  1. Avi says:

    That’s exactly the product I’m lookin for, but I can’t find it online..
    Would be great if you could help me out!

Leave a Reply

