Star Wax – Toffee

Continuing with the new products in the new year, I am trying out the first in the Star Wax line. Their Toffee says it’s the lightest hold on the label so I went with that one. Mark over at the Star Pro Line contacted me just before Xmas about checking out their products and sent me one of each to review. And as usual I start with lightest hold first. So let’s check out this stuff.

This product is actually made in Israel. I thought that was kind of cool it’s fun for me to try pomades from all over the world. It’s really interesting to see how other countries like their hair care products.

20140228-203453.jpg

Well back to the review. This stuff comes in a black plastic tub with a silver lid and silver labels. It’s about the same size as the Schmiere tins diameter and height wise. The lid label is fairly simple. It has the name in the center, then the type of product it is, and a couple of points about the product and the weight info. The can wrap has the same stuff in the center, then ingredients, a warning, directions, and a blurb about the product on it. Fairly basic labeling.

20140228-203611.jpg

The stuff inside is a light tan colored paste looking product. It has a shiny surface to it though, which I thought was a bit odd for a paste. Most pastes have a matte look to them, but it’s always nice to see change ups. The smell of it is very salon-y, it smells like a very floral smelling salon, but also has a soft buttery hint to it as well. You can also pick up the chemical type smell from it too. Not my favorite scent, but it’s not too bad. My lady liked the scent quite a bit so that’s a plus.

20140228-203650.jpg

It scoops out like a paste, but has a slightly tacky/sticky feel to it as well. It feels like what Bees Knees Hair Paste would feel like if there was one. The scent really takes on that salon type smell when you scoop it out and kind of loses the buttery note. I was kind of hoping for the opposite, but it didn’t happen. In my hands it really got sticky/gummy. It felt more like a really tacky pomade than a paste in my hands. I definitely like that, hopefully that will transition over when I apply it. It turns a real whit color in your hands too, most pastes/putty’s do that though.

When I ran my hands across my hair I was delighted to find that it did in fact feel like applying a pomade. It felt kind of like putting in Nu Nile actually. Nice tacky resistance, but still goes in decently. And to my surprise the white that it leaves when you apply it quickly disappears when you put comb to hair. It combs a bit harder than you expect it to though. I thought it would be fairly easy to comb in, but it was actually slightly difficult. I had to comb slowly to prevent any tugging or pulling out hairs.

20140228-203733.jpg

I wasn’t able to get too much height with this stuff despite it being so tacky. Once I got it all worked in and went to form my pomp it kind of tuned into a really soft dressing. I did like the look this stuff gave my hair. It left me with a nice slicked look. And on a plus note for me, the scent weakened quite a bit after I styled my hair. I know quite a few of you would probably like the scent and a lot of ladies would too, but I just didn’t like the smell very much.after about 10 minutes it had dried completely. What I was left with reminded me of my punk days. I had total gel-met going on haha. My hair was hard as a rock! This stuff would make for a great Mohawk or liberty spikes if you took the time. Once it completely dried there wasn’t any shine to my hair at all. It leaves your hair with a kind of natural look to it, apart from the comb lines.

All throughout the day my hair didn’t budge one millimeter. It was locked into place like concrete. Not surprised at that one bit though, I knew it would hold like that because of how hard my hair dried. That’s definitely a plus, I can’t wait to put this stuff to the test against the AZ summer heat and the trials of a hardcore show. I think it will do pretty well. One of the reasons is that it’s kind of hard to wash out. I had to let my hair run under the water for a good 5 minutes to get this stuff softened up enough to wash out. So I think it will hold up good against the rigors of moshing and the sweat factor. A huge plus for me as well was how my hair felt after I washed it out. My hair was so soft and healthy feeling, it felt like puffy silk. This stuff totally conditions your hair while you have it in and makes it feel so healthy when you wash it out.

This stuff is definitely a unique product. There are pluses and minuses to it for me. I didn’t like the scent very much or the gel-met aspect. However I did like the look it gave my hair and the fact that my hair didn’t move all day, as well as the conditioning aspect of it. So on that basis alone I’d say give it a shot. You can always just use it on your off days to help get your hair back to a healthy starting point. To get ahold of this or another one of their products, head over to their website http://www.starproline.com/ and pick some up. Big thanks again to Mark for sending me this and the others to try out! I will be trying the next one up in their line after a few other new product reviews. So stay tuned for all the new stuff I’ll be checking out this year!

Til the next one,

-JC

Leave a Reply

