English Laundry – 3-in-1 shampoo

A little while ago the fine folks over at Birchbox contacted me about reviewing a new product for them. I of course said yes. So they promptly sent me out a bottle of English Laundry’s 3-in-1 shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. I don’t use body wash so I am reviewing it as a shampoo/conditioner. Let’s get to it!

20140318-204042.jpg

It’s packaged in a black, soft plastic tube, crimped at one end. The labeling on it is pretty cool looking too. It has a badass crest up at the top of the tube. The underneath that it has the company name in some awesome English script. The it describes what the product is and has a blurb inside a silver box. At the very bottom is amount of product you get and a chrome line wrapping around the tube. The back has the directions, ingredients, some warnings, and the company info. Like I said pretty cool labeling. That crest is really really cool!!

The lid is it the standard flip top with an opening in the center for the shampoo to come out. It’s a shiny black hard plastic lid similar to a toothpaste lid. I don’t know if you can see, but under the lid is a black seal. You have to unscrew the lid then remove the seal to use the shampoo. I like this a lot. Makes for safe transit of the product without the possibility of it leaking everywhere and potentially ruining it and/or other products.

20140318-204126.jpg

The moment I removed the seal I was hit with a very strong scent of this shampoo. It has a very manly, cologne type scent. It smells very “Englishman” to me. The cologne type scent that has is a very crisp and clean scent with a hint of a floral note. I happen to like the smell a lot. The shampoo itself is kind of your standard pearly white shampoo. It has the same consistency and texture as any of your other big-name shampoos you can buy any store. It also reminds me a little of the JS Sloane moisturizing shampoo.

20140318-204210.jpg

It seems to work into your hair just like most of the store bought shampoos as well. Then as I started to lather I was very surprised. It creates the thickest lather of any shampoo I’ve ever used apart from my own shampoo. I was like “holy thick foamy lather Batman.” It really threw me a curve ball, I was not expecting that from this shampoo at all. Kind of cool. As I started to rinse out the lather I noticed it takes a bit longer to rinse out than your normal shampoo. I’m not sure if this has to do with me having pomade in my hair or not. It shouldn’t, as no other shampoo does this, but you never know. It didn’t seem to take anymore pomade out of my hair than your average shampoo does. However this isn’t marketed as a degreasing shampoo so I wasn’t expecting it to do anything for me in that aspect.

My scalp did seem, or feel rather, noticeably cleaner than with my regular daily use shampoo. But my scalp felt much dryer after my hair dried completely. Being that this is a 3-in-1 I am not surprised at that. I used it a couple times without any pomade in my hair to see how it was on it’s own. It had slightly differing effects. My scalp would get dry, but my hair would be decently soft. I noticed a slight increase in the body of my hair after using it a few times as well. Kind of weird for a shampoo to do that. Maybe it’s because it’s a 3-in-1, I don’t know for sure though.

All in all it was a pretty cool product to check out. I want to give the fine folks over at Birchbox a huge thank you for thinking of me and sending me a bottle to try out. You guys are the best!! If you guys want to pick up some of this stuff to try out head over to
http://www.birchbox.com
to get it. While you’re there, poke around a bit and check out all the stuff they have on there. Thanks again guys!

Stay fresh, and clean,

-JC

Leave a Reply

