Barber Side – Madman Ringing Gel

Keeping on the new product roll that I’m on, I will be checking out a new product from my friends over at Barber Side. A couple months ago Marvin contacted me about this new product he thought I should try out. Then a couple days later I had a care package waiting for me. Very stoked to try this stuff out! I’ve loved every Barberside product I’ve used so I’m sure I will love this one too. Thanks for the gifts Marvin, I really appreciate it. Ok let’s get started.

It’s packaged in the same type of double walled plastic tub as Layrite or Suavecito and a lot of other products like that. This one is a white tub with a black lid and a white can wrap with black writing on it. Very classic look to it. No over the top or cluttered design, no flashy color scheme, just simple and to the point. I like that very much. You don’t often see that too much anymore. In big, bold, 60’s type letters across the front it says “MADMAN” with white circles in black lines above and below it. To the right of that are the directions, ingredients, caution, and company info. To the left of that is the company logo with “pomade ringing gel” across it, and the weight info.

20140323-221120.jpg

This stuff is a product catering to the people that like the washable aspect of grooming that has become super popular these days. This one has a different, but correct name to it too. They put “ringing gel” on the label. I’m very surprised, in a good way, to see someone labeling a product like this one with the correct terminology. As I stated in my “What is Pomade” post a while back, people call these ringing gels, pomades for marketing reasons. Makes total sense from a sales and marketing standpoint. The make up and chemical composition of them is technically a gel, but I’m sure they wouldn’t sell as well labeled that way. However, I personally find it cool to see a product labeled this way.

20140323-221253.jpg

When you open the lid you see a light neon yellow goop inside the tub. And you’re immediately hit with the fresh scent of this stuff. It’s kind of a crisp and clean scent with a cologne feel to it and some floral notes as well as like a citrus rind kind of after scent. It doesn’t smell like an orange or lemon or any specific fruit, but it my nose does pick up a citrusy scent. More like the peel than the fruit. Very good scent in my opinion, and I know Marvin said a lot of his customers were getting positive reactions from the ladies when using this stuff. From the look of the surface it appears to have the same texture as like Bona Fide or Cool Grease blue. Maybe it will work like those! I love both of those products.

20140323-221459.jpg

As I scooped it out I was reminded a lot of Cool Grease. It did feel a bit softer though. The scent bursts out as soon as you take the first scoop out of the tub. I’d say it’s easily twice as strong as in the tub. I put the scoop in my hand and then got distracted by my kid getting into the pantry for a second. When I went back to what I was doing I had noticed that this stuff was staring to liquify. Huh?! Just the heat of my hands was melting this stuff? Whoa! I am questioning whether this stuff will hold my hair at all. But I’ve been way surprised by stuff in the past so I gotta throw my initial judgements out the window. I barely had to move my hands together before it all turned to a very watery consistency. As I rubbed my hands a little bit it became kind of tacky. Hmmmmmm, odd. Isn’t drying up on me already, or what is going on? I decided to rub my hands together a little bit longer to see what would happen. It kept the same tacky consistency and didn’t get any more tacky like it was drying up.

It goes in your hair almost like water, and feels like nothing when you apply it. You really get the pop of the scent once you get this stuff on your head. I didn’t think it could get any stronger than when I scooped it out, but it did. Just like applying it, combing it is like combing water in your hair. It was really starting to worry me that it wouldn’t hold at all. But when I went to comb up my pomp, it pulled a Lone Star and started to get firm. It’s weird how those two do that. Soft and very malleable when combing, but when you go to lift your hair it grabs and holds. Kind of nice actually. Way better than hard to comb that’s for sure.

20140323-221635.jpg

As you can see I was able to get nice hold with this stuff. I probably could’ve combed my pomp a little bit taller, but it looked good enough to not mess with so I left it alone. I was really impressed with how good this stuff made my hair look. It wasn’t crazy height, but I thought I got a really nice, rounded pomp. I noticed this stuff had a nice shine to it as well. Like I stated earlier, way surprised with this stuff. Just like I have been with other ones in the past. Sometimes it’s hard to look past the initial reaction, but you kind of have to because of situations like this.

20140323-221737.jpg

After it had dried I noticed that the shine of this stuff had increased a lot! It was as shiny as Royal Crown hair dressing or Layrite super shine or my Silver Dollar hair dressing. It was a very high gloss, loving that!! Nice hold with a super high shine, perfect. When it dried I felt my hair to see how it had hardened up. It felt much more gummy than hard like most ringing gels do. It wasn’t even as hardened as Monkey Brains when it dries, but it wasn’t completely malleable like Cool Grease blue is or normal pomades are. You can see in the picture that I did run my fingers through my hair, so it does let you work with it a little.

I didn’t try recombing it until the end of the day. It held all day long without moving by the way. So I didn’t need to recomb it during the day. I did wet my comb and try I recomb it and was surprise how easy it recombed. Usually I have to wet my hair, let it sit, wet my comb, and then I can work with products like this one. However, this one was very easily recombable with hardly any water needed to get it workable again. I did notice after I recombed it and it dried again, one, it was a little harder, and two, the shine was gone. My hair looked more natural than glossy. I mean it had shine, but it looked like your hair’s natural shine, not a glossy shine. Still looked good, just wasn’t the same shine as the first time it dried.

20140323-221909.jpg I took another picture in a better light to show you the true neon yellow color of this stuff. The first picture didn’t show it correctly.

The next morning I washed it out and felt my hair after I got out of the shower and let it dry some. To my surprise my hair and scalp were both not dried out. My hair actually felt nice and soft. Definitely a plus! Most ringing gels leave my hair feeling like straw, so it’s really nice when one doesn’t. The second day using I got the exact same result as the first. Marvin suggested putting it in fridge for a few hours before I used it again so I tried that and the cooling sensation I got was pretty rad. Plus with it being cooler I could get a little more control with it when I went to comb my pomp. So do like I did and take his advice, it’s a nice change up from the norm. Marvin and I talked briefly via email this morning about this and other ringing gel products, how I liked the review and about me visiting the shop if I get to go to San Diego this summer. Super cool guy, always a pleasure talking with him. If any of you guys reside in SD go pay him a visit at Barber Side.

All in all, I liked this stuff quite a bit. It’s not like your average ringing gel whatsoever. The scent, color, texture, hold, shine, everything about it is unique. And I happen to really like that about this stuff. It way out performed my initial impressions/expectations. Do yourself a favor if you like products like this one, but it! It’s really a good product. You can find it at
http://www.barberside.com
While you’re there make sure you check out everything they have. They have some of the best products out there. And they have everything you need! Pomade, shave cream, shoe shine bar, hair cream, razors, wallets, aftershaves, ringing gel(water based), pre shave oil, tshirts, heck even hair spray if you fancy some. Great shop, great guys, great product. Try them out and tell your friends. Huge thank you again to Marvin for this stuff and for all of his support of my blog!! I hope to get to finally meet you this summer and have you cut my hair and give me a shave.

Til next time,

-JC
;

2 comments on “Barber Side – Madman Ringing Gel

  1. Dimitrios says:

    Dear J.C, hallo..!!!

    I search for Madman in their website but nowhere to be found there or even at Amazon..

    B Regards

    Dimitrios

Leave a Reply

