Cock Grease – XXXX

Still on my new product kick guys and gals. This one is a brand new product from Cock Grease. I picked a tin of this stuff up in Vegas while I was at Viva. I chatted with Rea a little bit while I was there after I had bought it and told her I would get to it after the XX, and XXX. However I decided I wanted to try this one out first instead. She said this one has twice as much wax as the XX does. I’ve used that one in the past and it’s pretty damn heavy. I imagine this one will be like a candle. I wanted to keep going on the new product kick I’m on. Plus I had the first show at our new venue coming up, which was also my new band’s first show. I figured a nice heavy pomade would be a good choice, so I went with this one. Let’s get started shall we?

20140430-125630.jpg

It comes in the same size tins as their other pomades in the line do. It’s a 6oz stainless steel slip cover tin. It has a lid label and a can wrap on it. The lid label looks a lot like their other labels, but with a different color scheme and some different wording. The color scheme on this one is black, orange. and burnt yellow. It has the familiar rooster in the center, but his color has also changed to suit this label. In the banner just below him it says “The Big Black from cock grease.” Above and below it says “Hair Wax” and “Brown Sugar Limited.” In the area by the rooster it has “-ultra- -hard-” and “XXXX, once you go black…” Kind of a funny label. The can wrap is way different from their old oval labels. It has an oval shape, but it’s like the new High Life labels. It goes partway around the side of the can and has the company info and ingredients on it. It still has the oval which has the rooster, Cock Grease, and XXXX on it.

20140430-125721.jpg

When you open up the tin you see a very waxy looking blueish-grey colored pomade. I was totally expecting a black pomade, but this one is more of a steel blue/charcoal grey color. Very cool color, just not what I was expecting. The label said that this one is brown sugar scented, but I smell the wax right off the bat. Then after I smell it a little bit I can really make out the brown sugar scent. It smells like if you were to cover a jar of brown sugar with a layer of wax to seal it. Pretty unique scent, very sweet too.

20140430-125754.jpg

As I prepared my finger to dig into a candle, I was completely surprised to find how easy it was to scoop out. It felt more along the lines of High Life’s Heavy. It was by far easier to scoop out then their XX. Which to me is very surprising, because Rea said that it has twice as much wax. I’m guessing it is the micro wax that has doubled, since it is so easy to scoop out. Beeswax would make this stuff like a candle. When I scooped it out I got more of the brown sugar scent then I did from the surface. You can also smell notes of honey and the coconut oil in there too. They’re very faint, but you can detect them in there.

Rubbing in my hands was where I really saw the wax come into play. It was so waxy I couldn’t just rub my hands together to soften it up and spread it around. I had to push in flat into my palm first then rub my hands together. I had to start spreading it out slowly until it covered my whole hands before I could soften it up. When I tried to soften it up, it became very candle like in my hands. I had to do what I do with Putrescence and clap my hands together to keep it from having a hard surface. This allowed me to get it onto my hair, otherwise it wouldn’t have come off my hands.

20140430-125834.jpg

It goes into your hair very hard. It was even harder to apply than NorCal Knockout pomade or Putrescence. Took me a while to get it worked into my hair with my hands, because it wanted to stick just on top. I did eventually get it worked in somewhat evenly after a little while. I knew with how it applied it would be difficult to comb, but not as difficult as it was. It’s by far the hardest to comb pomade I have used. It took me 5 minutes just to get it combed in somewhat evenly. Once I did that, it became much easier to comb. It was still hard to comb, but not nearly as hard as at first.

20140430-125907.jpg

I was able to get a HUGE pomp/quiff with this stuff! Probably the tallest I’ve ever gotten. It would literally make my hair stand straight up. So I combed it as high as I could with still making it look decent as a pomp/quiff. It surprisingly has a little bit of shine to it. I definitely wasn’t expecting that from this stuff because it’s so waxy. It was more of a matte shine, but it still had some shine. This stuff left white streaks in my hair too, even with all the combing and styling there were still streaks in my hair. It didn’t flake like other pomades do, but left white waxy streaks in my hair. Kind of weird. I’ve never had a pomade do that before.

20140430-125936.jpg

It was kind of windy and hot the first day, and when I was loading up all the music equipment and merch I noticed that my hair was starting to split. The cowlick on the right part of the front of my hair was no longer tamed, but split wide open. And the top part of my pomp was drooping down toward my head. This only happened about 20-30 minutes after I styled my hair. Bummer. I grabbed mike home and styled a lower pomp instead. It felt like combing Murray’s in my hair for the first time when I recombed it. Tons of resistance to it, and it kind of made my shorter hairs stick straight out. When I got to the show, I noticed my hair hadn’t moved at all. However halfway through our set, my hair was a wreck. Not surprised at that one bit though. I jump around, head bang, and sometimes mosh while I play. And no pomade I have ever use has held up to the rigors of a hardcore show. It was much easier to recomb the second, third, fourth, fifth, etc. etc. time though. I could still comb a palm when the show was over at 11:30. So the first day had some pluses and minuses, but overall was decent. I never try and judge a pomade based off the first day I use it, because there’s so many other factors that can be added to the performance of it once you get the buildup of it in your hair.

The second day I noticed basically none of the pomade had come out. So I didn’t even have to add hardly any pomade to my hair. The work a couple areas where I had to touch up a tiny bit, but I didn’t even use 1/4 of a finger full. I tried again to comb a really tall pomp, which I was able to do. However, like with last time it only lasted about 20–30 minutes. Then I had to recomb it into a lower pomp, and that seemed to hold all day long up until I did my insanity workout. I had a few strands hanging in my face when I was working out. I took a shower after my work out and noticed that a little bit more of the pomade had come out.

When I woke up the next morning I noticed even more of the pomade had come out of my hair. I wanted to see how this stuff would work as a base to a lighter pomade so I decided to put in some of my Sodapomp. It seemed to work pretty well as a base. It was much easier to comb my hair, I had a little bit more control to it, and the styling was a little bit more manageable. My hair didn’t move one bit throughout the day while I was running errands. I am definitely starting to like this combo. I may be using this more often in the future, especially during the summer.

This stuff was kind of rough on me at first, but seem to get better the more I used it. It was really hard to apply and comb, and left streaks in my hair the first day. The hold was very good for a medium tall pomp, but you can’t get crazy height and control with it. you can get a height, but your hair won’t stay all combed together and look uniform and nice. It will kind of slick and wave a little bit, which may be cool for some of you guys. The second and third day were much better. I have much more control those days, and especially when I used a slightly softer pomade as a topper to this one.

All in all, it’s a pretty cool hair wax. The label and name make me laugh quite a bit. It has a good sent, and doesn’t scoop out like a candle. It is a little difficult to apply at first, but does have a nice solid hold to it. It works great as a standalone heavy, or as a base pomade. For all of you guys and love the super heavy stuff I can definitely recommend this one. However, it is not up on their website just yet. And with it saying “limited” on the label, I’m not sure if they will have it as a regular product, or if it was just something you could get at Viva. But if you do want some of this stuff I would encourage you to contact Rea via their website.
http://www.cockgrease.com
Thanks for the chat, and the info about this pomade when we talked at Viva Rea. I will get to the XX and the XXX this summer for you. And maybe the Beaver Cream in the fall.

Once you go black…..

-JC

This entry was posted in Pomades.

9 comments on “Cock Grease – XXXX

  1. any recommendations for a product? I’m looking for a side part, no pomp. I’ve tried Dax Wave and Groom but it still makes my hair kinda wavy. I have really thick coarse hair, tends to curl at the end. I was surprised that Dax Wave and Groom wasn’t holding my hair the way I wanted, do you have any recommendations? I was thinking Suavecito firme hold based off your reviews.

    • Well you can get a side part without anything in your hair. All you do is part your hair on the side. A side part is just where your part is located, so you don’t need any pomade or product in your hair to have a side part. If you want heavy pomades to tame your waves, try high life heavy or voodoo brew, my Kustom brew heavy or super heavy, cock grease XX or XXXX, ags super 90wt, putrescence, or schmiere knupplehart. Hope that helps man.

      -JC

  2. Phil says:

    Did you apply the XXXX with a extremely wet head? When I first applied my hair was damp and it left a solid white shine on my hair it took about 20 minutes to comb through and I constantly had to keep wetting my hands and combing them through my hair. I also had a little different experience with the scoop out I damn near needed a spoon mine was so stiff it felt like a candle, my XX was not close to this bad. Any tips on how to soften it a little?

  3. fredy says:

    Would you recommend xxxx or schmiere knupplehart if i want a result of strong hold yet not shiny, i want a matte look result?

    My referral would be murray superior and dr.rubin firm hold (still using them both now).. for me both are not that heavy hold to my hair and still quite shiny for my taste.

    Thanks for any inputs and suggestions. Cheers!

    -fredy-

  4. Wayne says:

    Hi JC, I’ve been stalking your blog these whole time, thank you for this comprehensive journal, it helps me a lot! Oh and this is my first comment btw.
    Can i have your suggestion a pomade for contour / very low pomp with wavy medium hair? I am confused to choose between this CG XXXX, High Life Heavy, Dax Green & Gold. Please don’t say Schmiere, its price here is so unbearable 🙂
    Thanks and Rock on, JC!!

    • Hey Wayne,

      Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you like the blog and that it’s helpful. Out of those 3 I would go with Dax Green and Gold. It’s the better of the 3. Hope that helps.

      -JC

      • Wayne says:

        Hi JC, i eventually go along with your suggestion and go along with Dax G&G, it supposedly arrived within 2 days now. I’ll let you know how it performs on my hair!
        And one more thing, how do you think about making a page for like your personal favourite pomades of 10? I just think it’d be a good idea considering you’re the only person in this planet uses more types of pomades than anyone else

        Thanks and Rock on, JC!

      • Hey bud. Awesome. Yeah let me know how you like them. I actually did. It’s under the FAQ page. There’s a link that will take you to the post.

        -JC

Leave a Reply

