Reuzel – Red Can

Hey guys, finally back with another hair product review. I decided to take the summer off pretty much, especially since AZ heat demolishes everything except for a few super heavy pomades. So I basically am going to stick to what I know works, try the occasional new heavy/super heavy, and not review much in the hair department during the summers from now on. I also got my hair cut pretty short, a little too short by accident, so I wanted to wait until my hair grew back out to get back to reviewing stuff again.

That being said, today I’m checking out a pretty hyped up product. It comes from my friends at Schorem Barber Shop in Amsterdam. It’s their Reuzel ringing gel in the red can. They had been developing this stuff for a while and then marketed it like crazy just before it was released. I bought myself a can a couple months ago and am now getting to the review. Let’s see what’s up with this product, shall we?

IMG_7702.JPG

The tin is a fairly large, very thin tin. It feels very flimsy in my hands, even softer than the Shiner Gold tins. This tin is lithographed, meaning the labeling is printed right on the tin. Kind of like Murray’s and DAX tins are. It’s a red, antique looking background with a pig in the very center. Above the pig in silver block letters is “Reuzel” and just below the pig is the weight info. It says 4oz, but it feels lighter than that. Around the edge is a silver ring with some cool filigree writing. Pretty cool looking design. I’m a fan of pigs so I like the little mascot guy.

IMG_7703.JPG

This tin happens to be a twist off lid tin, kind of cool! I only have one or two others like this. When I opened it I saw why it felt so light. This one is only a little more than halfway filled up. That’s unfortunate. The product itself is kind of a champagne looking gel with a bubbled surface. I was kind of confused by the scent at first. It has a kind of feminine, floral scent to it. It also has some other notes of pineapple and perfume. It reminds me of this lotion my lady uses, or used to use. It smells more like it would be a ladies/salon product rather than a dudes. It’s not a bad scent by any means, I just was expecting something different. I quite like the scent actually, it’s just not what I thought it was going to be. Maybe scents like this are more popular with gents over across the pond.

IMG_7773.JPG

The texture of this stuff feels almost identical to Shiner Gold. It’s a very firm and tacky goop. And it scoops out virtually the same as Shiner Gold does. It’s crazy how alike they are. But then again, I don’t really notice too much difference between all the ringing gels apart from the firmness of them. They all seem to be the same anymore, some are just more firm than others. There are only a few that I can think of that actually stand apart from them rest.

In my hands it felt much more like the Tres Flores ringing gel than Shiner Gold. It was easier to spread around, yet it kept it’s tackiness. The scent didn’t seem to change at all when I spread it around in my hands either. Applying it to my hair was about like applying Tres Flores as well. Some resistance to it at first, but still easy to coat your hair with it. When I ran my comb through my hair it went back to feeling like Shiner Gold. It was kind of difficult to comb in at first. Once I got my hair combed all the way back this stuff went really soft on me. It became very easy to comb, but it left my hairs kind of sticking straight like a heavy product would.

IMG_7777.JPG

This stuff seemed to have a good hold to it. I couldn’t comb my hair up high, because it’s too short, especially on my part’s side. Not really sure how that happened, but that side is shorter than my other side. I don’t think I will be going to the barber without at least some pomade in my hair, and definitely not with hat hair again. This one really stuck my hairs together a lot. Even with the fine toothed end of my comb, it makes my hair look like I combed it with the wide toothed end. It was especially stuck together toward the back. There is a little bit of shine with this stuff, but not too much. I wasn’t expecting any though.

It dried really quickly too. It was completely dry within 3-4 minutes of me finishing styling my hair. I didn’t like how it dried at all either. My hair felt very crunchy and brittle to the touch. I’m not a fan of my hair feeling hard as it is, but the crunchy feeling is not fun at all. This stuff seemed to keep my hair in place all day. I was in and out of the heat pretty much all afternoon and my hair didn’t move too much. Definitely a nice holding product for sure. After all, it does get upwards of 115° And sometimes higher here.

My hair was slightly dried out after using it, but that doesn’t come as any surprise. This made it a little more difficult to apply and work in the second day. Dry hair and a heavy product aren’t the best things to mix together. Once I got it all worked in and styled, I pretty much had a repeat of day one with it. Nice hold, keeps my hairs stuck together, and dries crunchy with a little bit of shine. It’s for sure a consistent product and gives you the same performance and results day in day out.

All in all, it was an ok product. I didn’t see anything spectacular from it that sets it apart. It’s kind of a run-of-the-mill medium to heavy ringing gel. It’s not a bad product, I just didn’t see anything special in it. Nothing that would make me purchase a second tin. I do love the look of the tin, and the little pig on the lid. It’s a nice addition to my collection. And this is a product I can definitely recommend. All of you guys that like water soluble products or only use water solubles should definitely buy a tin of this stuff. I have no doubt most of you will like it quite a bit. Like I said it’s kind of like Shiner Gold, which is popular with most of you guys. You can find it on most of the online retailers and some physical shops carry it as well. So if you like ringing gels go get yourself a tin of this stuff ASAP! I’m confident you’ll enjoy it quite a bit.

Til next time,

-JC

One comment on “Reuzel – Red Can

  1. Jose says:

    I live in Phoenix as well. As summer approaches what water based pomade would you recommend and what oil based pomade would you recommend? I use High Life Voodoo brew and Shiner Gold now. FYI: I have curly thick dark hair.

Leave a Reply

