Sasquatch Soap Co. – Pine Tar

Finally getting back to another bar soap review. And I am going back to the Sasquatch line. I loved their bay rum bar so much I just had to try another. This time I am going with their Pine Tar soap. Very excited to try this one out.

IMG_7889.JPG

Just like the last bar, it has the exact same packaging. The only difference is the name of the soap and the ingredient list. I really like the goofy Sasquatch guy on these labels haha. He reminds me of like a cartooned Jed Clampett type Sasquatch.

IMG_7891.JPG

The bar itself is a black colored soap with little flecks in it. It has a really nice smell to it, smells just like it’s name. I have a feeling this is going to be a scrub bar due to the flakes in it. I particularly like scrub bars a lot. I am even working on perfecting mine for my new soap company. I like the abrasive feeling and the exfoliation that comes from bars like that. I’m also a big fan of black soaps. Don’t really know why exactly, but I dig them quite a bit.

IMG_7892.JPG

I decided to work up a little water on the bar to show the beginning stage of it’s lather. After a couple seconds, a slimy, sticky, grey foam showed up. And almost immediately even more flecks appeared from under the surface. I think I am going to really like this soap. I’m definitely curious to see how I like the lather. I’ve never had a lather do this at the beginning stage before. Never felt a slimy feel from a soap before. Could be cool though, you never know.

After about 5 seconds of using the bar, it turned into feeling like 60-grit sandpaper. This stuff is crazy! Caution to fair skinned folks, this is definitely a man’s soap! It’s gritty and scrapes your skin really well. It feels almost sharp it’s so gritty. I love it! It’s not a soap for the faint of heart that’s for sure though. I really liked how the scent was in the shower. It got a little stronger, but didn’t overwhelm at all. And it went very well with my Clubman shampoo.

IMG_7893.JPG

The lather ended up turning into a very frothy foam, almost a picture perfect bubble group. As you can see, it almost looks too good to be true. But I can honestly say that’s exactly how the lather was. After my shower my skin was left feeling very clean. I decided to look at the label to see what was in the soap. Come to find out, they use the same thing that I do in my bar, steel cut oats. They use a bit more than I do though, my bar isn’t this gritty. This bar really is the ultimate scrub bar. It’s awesome. Once my skin was dry I felt my arms and noticed than they were a bit more smooth than normal. I’m not sure if it was due to the grit, or the soap, or both. However, it was definitely nice.

I have to say, this bar has quickly become one of my new favorite soaps. I wish I had a couple more on hand. I don’t think one bar will fill my craving for it. I might just have to go but a couple bars before I run out so I can use it for a while. I tend to do that when I like a bar a lot. I think that is part of the reason why I don’t review bar soaps very often. I kind of get stuck on one that I like for a while.

This is definitely a soap you guys should check out. As long as you can handle a serious scrub bar that is. To get a couple bars head on over to their website. http://www.sasquatchsoap.com
They have quite a few other bars on there as well, so check them all out. So far this company has shown me nothing but great soaps. I know you guys will like them.

Scrub that mug,

-JC

Leave a Reply

