Wet Shaver’s Club – 1st month box

A little while back I was contacted by Julia about featuring their box. I of course said yes. I always enjoy trying out new stuff and it’s nice when companies contact me about reviewing their stuff. So she sent me out a box and I got it last week when I was down with the flu. Let’s check out what’s in the box!

IMG_8068.JPG

It’s a standard cardboard box, with emerald green writing on it. Inside the border are little dots that follow it all the way around. At the top it says “Wet Shave Club Est. 1972” there are some stars above that. Then in a green banner is “Fine Men’s Shaving.” In the bottom right corner it says “30 days of handsomeness.” On the front inside a stripe it says “Style for a manly shave” and it has their website. Not a bad layout.

IMG_7992.JPG

Inside the box are a couple cards. One is your membership card. The other is a 10 step perfect wet shave instruction card. Julia also included a thank you note to me. She said everything in the box is what you would get in your first months box. Pretty cool, thank you for the personal note Julia! Let’s see what’s in the box.

IMG_7994.JPG

Here’s what is all in the box you get on your first month. A 3-piece de razor, shaving brush, two 5-packs of blades, two sample shave soaps, one bottle of aftershave, and a matchbook of alum matchsticks. Nicely filled box if I don’t say so myself. You get a lot of cool stuff. Really the only thing you don’t get is a stand and a shave bowl. But who knows, maybe you get that in month 2 or 3! Very cool box, thank you Julia!

I’m going to kind of review the whole box at once, so this review is going to be a kind of lengthy review. I will do a step by step, item by item review and include a summary on the box/products as a whole. Kind of a point by point account of the whole shave from start to finish with all these products except for the second soap and second blade.

IMG_8101.JPG

I have decided to add a bowl into the review. It’s a bowl I have had for a while and just kept forgetting to review. This one is a Col. Conk bowl I got from West Coast Shaving a while back. It’s a really awesome looking onyx marble bowl. This thing is hefty too! It has to weigh at least 3lbs. Surprisingly it’s quite a bit bigger than the picture makes it seem. I was kind of worried I might not be able to fit certain soaps in it, but it’s big enough to accommodate just about any soap out there.

IMG_8126.JPG

The lid has a few nice white swatches swirled in it. I really like the marbling in the lid a lot, it has a great look to it. The bowl has the same onyx and white marbling as well. It also has some green, brown and red stone swirled into it as well. This shave bowl is one of the coolest looking bowls ever. I’m a huge fan of marble/granite so this one was right up my alley.

IMG_8102.JPG

Inside the bowl you see that it’s not rounded like most bowls. It actually has a 90° angle where the wall and floor meet. I was surprised when I saw that because I’ve never seen a bowl like that until I bought this one. Inside the bowl, the marbling is mainly black and grey with a few flecks of the other colors thrown in here and there. The under part of the lid has even more white than the outer part does. It’s really cool how rocks can do that. By far my favorite looking shave bowl. Now for the soap.

IMG_8103.JPG

I’m going to go with the Oatmeal Milk & Honey soap from Red Leaf, I think it will go better with the aftershave than the English Coast soap will. As you can see it’s a clear soap square wrapped in thin clear plastic wrap. The label is very simple, a brown band with the name of the soap. Then there’s a red square in the center that has the company name.

IMG_8104.JPG

The soap actually isn’t quite clear. It’s slightly cloudy yellowish green clear soap. The scent on the soap is just awesome. It has the obvious scents that are in it’s name, plus a nice soapy note, but then it has a woodsy type note in there as well. It’s a nicely balanced, great smelling soap. The sweet, clean, woodsy smell is quickly becoming one of my favorite scents of all my soaps.

IMG_8105.JPG

It fits in my shave bowl really nicely. There is quite a bit of room around the soap to work your brush around. Inside the bowl the soap looks much more white than when you’re holding it. I then filled the bowl up with nice, hot water to soak the soap well. Time to check out the brush you get in the box.

IMG_8106.JPG

This one is a fairly simple brush. Kind of a standard 3-band, boars hair brush. The handle is just a plain black plastic handle. No symbol or company name on it anywhere. It is a fairly tall brush. Slightly taller than my Col. Conk brush that I just reviewed. The knot seems to be about the same size as that brush.

IMG_8107.JPG

Looking at the bristles from up above, you see a kind of dense brush. Not nearly as dense as some of my brushes, but this one does have more bristles than my other two boars hair brushes do. I lightly rubbed it on my face just to see how it feels. It’s a pretty abrasive brush. This one kind of pokes your face a little bit, but then again it is dry. I’m sure it will feel much different with soap in it. I proceeded to put it in a mug and soak it in hot water.

IMG_8108-0.JPG

Now it is time for the razor. This one comes with a really cool looking leather cover. The cover is branded/stamped with the company’s name on it. And this one is also a very hefty razor. I would even say a little bit heavier than my Merkur 20c razor. This one really has some nice weight to it. So far this one is making a pretty dang good impression, that leather cover is awesome!

IMG_8109.JPG

The handle has some nice criss cross pattern carved into it. There is a large bar of it in the center of the handle, then there is a space and a couple more rings towards the bottom. The top of the razor concave’s in towards the head. The spaces that don’t have the grip etching on them are nice polished nickel/chrome. I’m not sure which exactly. I really like the grip this razor has. It almost feels like a ratchet wrench’s grip, just not as large of a grid.

IMG_8110.JPG

The head of the razor has the company name etched in it like the leather cover did. I think that is pretty cool! I like the really simplistic lettering too. The bar is a kind of your standard grooved bar. I’ve seen this bar on many a razor. Overall it’s a pretty cool looking razor. I like the weight of it, not sure if that will be a good thing or bad thing when shaving just yet.

IMG_8111.JPG

This one happens to be a 3 piece razor. You can really get a good view of the handle and bar when it’s taken apart like this. I was surprised at how long the threads are on the head spike. It’s twice as long as my Merkur 1904 razor. I’m not sure if I like or dislike that just yet. I need to use this razor a few more times and get a good feel for it I think. Now for the blade.

IMG_8132.JPG

I decided to go with the Gillette silver blue razor blades. I have heard a few good things about these, so I figured it would be a good place to start. The blades come in your standard little cardboard box like most blades do. The edge is a royal blue with a silver trim, inside the border it is white. In The same blue lettering is the company name, then in silver lettering it says the blade name. Very simple box, no design just text. The blades are wrapped in normal paper and a wax paper. The outer wrap looks virtually identical to the box. It just doesn’t have the same border that the box does. The blade says “Gillette” up on top, and “silver blue” down on the bottom. The etching is kind of your standard black etching, nothing fancy.

IMG_8133.JPG

It fits in the razor very nicely. The blade is very snug in the head of the razor. It doesn’t stick out as far as most of my razors allow. This seems like it will be a nice razor for beginners. That totally makes sense since it’s going to a member on their first month.

IMG_8117.JPG

Time to get my lather going! Loading the brush was very easy at first. Then I dislodged my soap and it became a little race chasing my soap around in the bowl. This always seems to happen with smaller soaps. Generally it only happens the first time, then it kind of glues itself to the bottom of the bowl. The lather loads quickly then builds up on the outer part of your brush. It’s a very thick, almost paste type lather when it’s first loaded into your brush. It has a nice brownish/off-white color to it as well. The scent seemed to get a bit stronger and the soapy note shone trough a bit more at this stage.

IMG_8118.JPG

When I went to work up the lather, it kind of dissipated at first. I really had to add water and work it up in order to get some nice tufts going. Once I did I was pretty happy with it. The lather remains a really thick paste type lather. It doesn’t get puffy like a lot of soaps do. I like that it maintains that brownish/off-white color even when you build up the lather. I expected it to turn bright white, but it didn’t. The soapy note is still pretty present, but the sweet scent and the woodsy scent also grow in strength to meet it. I’m really liking the smell of this stuff!

IMG_8120.JPG

As I started to brush the lather on my face, I noticed that the brush wasn’t quite as abrasive now that it was damp and full of soap. That was definitely a nice turnaround. You can see that the lather remains a nice thick white paste type lather even it when it’s on my cheek. I half expected it to kind of dissipate like it did before, but it didn’t. Being that it’s so thick and paste like, it almost has a dry feel on your face. It’s not as moist and puffy as other soaps are. Doesn’t feel bad or anything, it’s just not what I’m used to. Maybe I didn’t use enough water, I’m not sure. I’ll have to play around with the soap some more and see what it does.

Time for the shave! The first pass I did with my razor I let the weight of it kind of do the work for me. The blade glided across my skin very smoothly, but I could really feel it cut each hair as it passed. It wasn’t tugging on my hairs at all, I could just feel it cut through each hair. It was a very unique feel. Usually when it feels like that, the hairs get tugged pretty hard. I found myself going through this shave faster than any shave I normally do. I think the combination of a really nice blade, and the weight of this razor allowed me to flow through the shave effortlessly. It was kind of surreal, I wasn’t paying attention and then I realized I only had a couple strokes left to go. I was kind of left perplexed as to where the whole shave went. It was over so quickly I almost didn’t get a chance to enjoy it.

IMG_8121.JPG

I was left with a really nice close shave though. I haven’t had this close and receive from a razor blade I was reviewing in a while. I was very happy with how my face felt after my shave. It was nice and close, and the soap left my face very smooth.

IMG_8119.JPG

Another awesome thing about the soap, is that you have enough for a few more passes in your bowl, and around your soap. I think if I would’ve used a little bit more water in my brush when loading and working up the lather, there would be even more in the bowl. I will have to try that next time and see how it works out. Now it’s time for the aftershave.

IMG_8122.JPG

The aftershave that I got in the box was from a company called Whiskey Ink & Lace. I have been in contact with this company a little while ago and bought some of their products to review on my blog, so it was kind of a familiar product to me. Unfortunately due to the summer, I haven’t been able to try out their pomades, and I’ve been busy with other shave stuff. I plan on getting to the shave soap soon very soon though. The aftershave comes in an amber glass bottle with a brown paper label. The lid is a black plastic screw on lid. The label is very simplistic in design, and has a nice aesthetic to it. Their logo is in the center of the top, and the type of aftershave is in the black area just below it. On either side is the ingredients and the directions. Very simple, and to the point type of label. They have a few different scents to their aftershaves. The one that I bought from them was called The Gent, but I was very excited to see the Cedarwood in the box. That scent is one of my favorite smells ever.

IMG_8123.JPG

Opening the black lid, you see a clear plastic dropper style insert in the mouth of the bottle. I happen to like these a lot, it allows you to get what you need without any spillage. And as I said, the scent is exactly what the label says, cedarwood!

IMG_8124.JPG

The aftershave itself is a slightly brown colored aftershave. In your hand you see the oils floating on top of the aftershave. I always like this look, it gives off a handmade vibe. You can tell good ingredients were used in making this aftershave. Boy does the smell explode once you get in your hands.

Splashing it on my face I did notice a slight burn, and then an immediate cooling effect right after that. It was a nice feeling aftershave when I applied it. The scent gets even stronger when you apply it to your face. It really is one of the best smells, and it complements the soap perfectly. I am very pleased with this aftershave. The only thing that could be better was if I had a gigantic bottle of it!

IMG_8125.JPG

After I fanned my face dry with my hands, I felt my cheeks. The combination of the soap, blade, razor, and aftershave left me with a near perfect shave. I had a very soft, smooth face, as well as a close shave. And that feeling lasted all day. I felt my face late that night and it still felt nice and soft. I am definitely happy about that.

Overall, this shave box/set is one of the best I have ever used. I really don’t have anything to point out that wasn’t on par. Really the only things that could make this box better, is bigger portions. But it is a sampler box for your first month. So you can’t really complain at all, because you get a bunch of stuff in it! This is definitely something I recommend you guys try it if you haven’t already! To get this box, head over to their website and sign up.
http://www.wetshaveclub.com
You guys should definitely sign up ASAP, you get some awesome stuff! They have different increments too so you don’t have to sign up for a full year or anything. That is definitely a nice option for guys wanting to check stuff out or guys on a budget.

The only thing I didn’t get a chance to tryout was the matchbook. I’m going to do a quick overview on what it looks like and what you get since I didn’t have the opportunity to use any of the matchsticks.

IMG_8127.JPG

It’s a very simple design on the outside of the book. It is a red background with white letters. The top says “The Legends” in cursive type letters above a white bar with a triangle in it. Below that it says “London” in block letters. Then in smaller cursive letters towards the bottom it says “alum matchsticks” and “after shave astringent.” Pretty cool.

IMG_8128-0.JPG

The backside of the book has a little description of the matchsticks. Then it has the ingredients and directions just below that. Towards the bottom it has a caution, and the company information. To the right of the text is a little guy recycling. Make sure to stay eco-friendly guys.

IMG_8129.JPG

Inside the book you see 20 white matchsticks in two rows. It’s one has a nice dab on the applicator tip of the matchstick. They’re just plain white matchsticks that look a bit fatter than your usual matchstick. You can also see the standard staple holding them together inside the matchbook. Just like you do with any other matchbook. Pretty cool little matchbook.

Be sure to check out this company and their monthly boxes! You get some great stuff from them! Thank you again Julia!

Stay fresh gents,

-JC

One comment on “Wet Shaver’s Club – 1st month box

  1. Looks kickass dude! Nice shave. I’m using an electric shaver and it does a good job, but i may try oldschool sometime.

Leave a Reply

