Rogue Sideshow – Heavy (black lid)

Hey guys back with another installment on the Rouge Sideshow line. This time we are trying the black lid or heavy hold.

IMG_8741.JPG

The lid design is exactly the same as the blue one is. There are just a couple things different. One, obviously this one is black and not blue. Second, this paint isn’t flake paint, it’s a standard glossy black paint. I really dig how Ben has these engraved like this. No one else is doing this, really sets his stuff apart design wise.

IMG_8742.JPG

Opening up the tin you immediately see that this one is also filled to the brim. That’s another thing I like about Ben’s tins. I can’t stand when I get one of these tins halfway filled. As a consumer and a pomade maker myself, it just aggravates me. This pomade is a little more yellow than the medium was, but it looks pretty much the same. The scent of this one is also kind of a Bath & Body Works scent. I get notes of musky vanilla and caramel right alongside floral notes. My lady says it smells like walking past the B&BW store. This one isn’t quite as strong as the blue tin, but it’s still a strong scent.

IMG_8743.JPG

Scooping this one out is literally just a heavier version of the blue. You easily tell they are made by the same company. This one also had a slightly similar scoop to Cock Grease X. It kind of had a slight gritty/grainy look to it. However with this one, the scent doesn’t get stronger when you scoop it out of the tin.

It breaks down a little less easy than the medium, expectedly. This one also clumps up like the medium, and these took a little more pressing to get all of them worked out. Once I got them all worked out, it started to get a little oily. Not as oily as them medium, but again, you can easily tell they’re made by the same company.

It’s just as easy to work into your hair and comb as the medium is. I was a little surprised by this since it is waxier than the medium. Another odd thing I noticed was that this one wasn’t as tacky as the medium. This time it was smoother and easier to comb. I expected the same tackiness and maybe a little more waxy feel, but nope. And this one didn’t just stick on top like the medium did. It was really easy to work in all the way. Definitely pleased with that.

IMG_8747.JPG

I was able to get a little more height with this one, but not that much. I have a feeling this one is also going to require buildup to get a true feel for how it performs. I had a lot less splits and stray hairs with this one. That’s definitely something I was happy to see. As expected, this one has a little less shine than the medium did. It still has some nice shine to it though. This one held better than the medium did, but after a little while it also kind of drooped. Unlike the medium, it doesn’t get too oily either. And recombing it yielded good results. I couldn’t get it back to its original height, but I could get some height back to it. After the first day, I gotta say I’m digging it. I like it better than the medium on the first day.

IMG_8754.JPG

With it not being as oily, the buildup was much better. And just like with the medium, this one is much better the second day. I was able to get more height and control with it the second day. It was a little more waxy when combing the second day as well. It didn’t have any more shine to it than the first day though. I had even less hairs come out of place the second day too, and the hold lasted quite a bit longer. When I recombed it, I was able to get closer to the original height this time around. Much happier with it the second day, just like with the medium.

Definitely enjoyed this pomade. And my lady really enjoyed the scent. Like with the medium, there are good and not so good aspects to it. But I have to say, I liked this one better than the medium. Buildup isn’t quite so essential when using this one, but it is definitely important for me. I get a much better hold and more control with the buildup. Huge thank you to Ben for letting me review this stuff! I look forward to trying out the rest of his line. Hopefully I can get to those soon! Hit up Ben on his website to get a tin of this and/or any of his other pomades http://www.roguesideshow.com

Til next time,

-JC

This entry was posted in Pomades.

Leave a Reply

