Murray’s – Small Batch 50-50

Still rolling with the semi-new products guys. Which brings us to a newer and limited edition product from one of my favorite, and oldest, pomade companies out there. Today’s pomade is by none other than the legendary Murray’s! My friend Jim over at Murray’s sent me a care pack shortly after this stuff was released, along with the other limited edition ones. I tried them all out and knew I had to review them for you guys. So I bought some new cans that way the surfaces would be new and fresh for you. Let’s get started on their Small Batch 50-50 pomade.

  

This one, along with their other limited-edition ones, comes in their signature orange can. The lid design has their cartoon wolf guy on it in the very center. Above him it says “Murray’s” in some awesome lettering. Then there are red and black nautical stars on either side of him. Below him is “Small Batch 50-50 pomade” in some broken up stencil style lettering. The background behind him has kind of rusted or aged look to a little bit. It’s a very cool kid design! Around the edge of the lid it has the company name, the established date, and then it says “50% Superior – 50% Exelento” as well. If you haven’t guessed it, this stuff is a 50-50 mix of their Superior pomade and their Exelento pomade.

  

Now the actual can is just their Superior can, but each one of these limited edition ones has its own unique lid. They also have a sticker with the info of that particular pomade which covers the info on the Superior can. Personally, I would have liked to see each one have its own can, instead of just a lid. On the flip side, the lids are pretty badass, and they still give the pomades their own unique look. Plus I don’t think the can would be much different than it is now except for the name on the front and the info on the pomade.

  

Opening up the tin, you find what you’d expect. Kind of a greasy medium pomade, that looks about like a mix of Superior and Exelento. It has the same color as those two pomades do as well, not surprisingly. The scent? You guessed it! It smells just like their Superior mixed with their Exelento haha. It’s literally just a can filled with those two pomades mixed together. So it smells just like them both. Now I’m not sure if they mix those two after they make batches of them, or if they combine the ingredients for them both in their makers at once. I tend to lean toward them mixing two batches together then filling the tins though. Either way, still pretty cool. 

  

When you scoop it out, it’s very reminiscent of Nu Nile, just a bit softer. It didn’t feel like I thought it would though. I figured it would be a bit softer and more oily than it is. It has a nice pull off to it as well, which makes for a cool looking scoop picture. In my hands it feels how I expected it to though. I have mixed their Superior and Exelento in my hands as a combo before, so I kind of knew what to expect. And it feels just like that, although it is easier to spread. Being one pomade instead of two makes it easier to spread in your hands. 

This stuff is a bit easier to apply than I thought it would be too. I half expected it to be like applying Nu Nile, but it wasn’t. It was much easier to apply and comb through my hair. More like their Super Light pomade is. Being easy to comb makes for quick distribution of this pomade in my hair. Only a few passes with my comb and all the pomade was worked into my hair evenly. Once you get it combed in this pomade takes on a slightly tacky aspect to it. Making it great for slicking your hair and keeping all the strays and shorter hairs stuck together.

  

The pomade gives my hair a really nice shine to it. It’s not too high and not too matte either. It took me a bit longer to get my hair where I wanted it than usual. I’m not sure if it’s because my hair is getting too long, or if it’s just the pomade yet. I will have to wait for day two to confirm which it is. I could also just be having a bad hair day. I was able to get a nice medium sized pomp going with it though. And like I was saying, the tackiness makes slicking the sides pretty easy. The scent takes on a nice strength to it once you style your hair. So far I am really pleased with this pomade. It is proving to be a great medium pomade for me. 

I was very happy to see that the hold had lasted all day long. My hair hadn’t really moved at all, except for a slight gap where my cowlick is in the front. And like always, for the sake of the review, I went ahead and recombed my hair even though it looked fine. The recomb of this stuff is a bit more resistant than when you first apply it. This could be due to my sweat though. I had been working around the house inside and out most of the day. 

  

As you can see, after recombing my hair, there were a few slight splits. I had used the wide toothed end of my comb, and the splits were along the teeth marks. You can also see the slight gap where my cowlick is too. I was able to close it up in the front, but the top wouldn’t stay closed. The shine had stayed the same after the recombing, although I expected it to be a little higher. Not a big deal really, just different than I had expected. I was able to basically get the same height as I did when I first styled my hair. It might have been a little shorter, but not really enough to notice. My hair stayed in place the rest of the night as well. So far I’m really liking this pomade. It’s a great medium pomade that has a long lasting hold and great control. Can’t wait to see how the buildup is. I have a sneaking suspicion it’s going to be like the other Murray’s pomades and not come out of my hair hardly at all though. 

More of the pomade had come out of my hair than I thought would however. I’d say a good 30-40% had come out of my hair overnight and after my shower. I ended up adding about half of what I put in the first day to my hair. With the buildup came a bit more resistance when combing my hair though. I had a feeling it would do this, as all the other pomades from them also do this. The buildup does allow for a bit more height to your pomp as well. I chose to keep it the same height, but get my hair more rounded out this time. Last time I wasn’t able to get it as rounded out as I wanted. The shine also increases a little bit on day two, as I expected it to. Not by a whole lot, and it’s still a nice shine. It’s not wet or oily looking at all, just a nice gloss added to your hair. The control stayed about the same as on day one, and my sides stayed slicked together just as well. This time I was able to get my hair styled a little quicker than I did yesterday. This makes me think my hair is getting too long and I wasn’t having the best hair day before. I’m definitely overdue for a cut! The plan is to go Friday, and both Logan and I will get cleaned up.

The hold on day two lasted all day, just as it had on day one. There was one exception though, my cowlick didn’t split this time. I was very happy about this. I’m happy that the control lasts all day with the buildup. I wasn’t really thinking I would see a difference, because I hadn’t noticed a difference in the morning with it. However, it definitely is better than on the first day. I decided not to recomb my hair this time, because my hair looked fine and I was going out to dinner. I didn’t want to change a good thing, or fix something that didn’t need fixin’ as my grandpa says. At the end of the night my hair was still in the same place. Very awesome hold and control with this stuff once you get the buildup going.

Days 3, 4, and 5 were basically repeats of the second day. The only thing that was different was that each day I added less and less pomade to my hair. On the fifth day I only added a tiny bit to my problem areas and cowlicks. I did notice an increase in shine a little bit on day 3, but it never got shinier than that. And it still wasn’t an oily or wet looking shine. 

This pomade is definitely a must have in your collection or bathroom. It is a solid pomade all around. Nothing I would change about this pomade at all. Maybe the labeling along the side of the tin. It would be nice to see this one as a permanent pomade in the Murray’s lineup, and have its own side labeling. Hint hint Jim, and the team over at Murray’s πŸ˜‰ I want to thank them again for sending me this awesome pomade to try out! Very stoked on this stuff guys, and I will definitely be buying more of it! You guys should do the same. Pick up a few tins of it, just in case Murray’s doesn’t make this a permanent addition to their line. Head on over to their site www.murrayspomade.com and get some of this stuff along with the other limited edition pomades. They also have some new products up now, and Jim told me that even more new stuff is coming to the site soon. So check back to see what that stuff is all about. 

Keep it greasy guys,

-JC

This entry was posted in Pomades.

One comment on “Murray’s – Small Batch 50-50

  1. Elvan says:

    Hello there, so how’s the result for a re-comb ? And also is that suitable if we wear a helmet on that? Because I often use my bike to off my school , thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

