Cool Grease – Cock Grease

Hey guys, still on my water based kick, but I’m finally back with another Cool Grease product! This time I am checking out the controversial product, Cock Grease. Tadashi over at HedgeLion sent this one over to me to review a little while back along with the other Cool Grease products. As always, thank you very much Tadashi! You’re the man! Let’s get into this review now.

As I said up there, this product has some controversy behind it. As most of you are already thinking, yes it is the same name as the Cock Grease company. And there is where the controversy lies. Now, I’ve talked to my contacts at the Cool Grease company, and they have said that they came up with the name and design first. However, my friend Rea, who owns the Cock Grease company, says that she came up with the name and design first. I didn’t want to get into the nitty gritty with either side, so I just let it alone. It doesn’t really matter to me who came up with it first, and most people don’t even know about this product over here. Nor do most Japanese folks know about the Cock Grease company over there. So, it’s not really worth my time to dig up records of stuff and find out who actually put it out first. Plus, the Cool Grease company discontinued this product a couple months back anyway. Well, technically they just changed the name to XXX instead, and changed the design of the container. So at this point, there’s not any need to even find out anymore I don’t think. But, if it does matter to you, feel free to contact both companies and do a little research to find out who came out with the name and design first and when. Now let’s move onto the product since we got that out of the way.

 

 One thing I haven’t shown you guys before is the various sizes the Cool Grease products come in. They have 3 different sizes for their main product line. A big 7oz tub, their normal sized 3oz tub, and a mini 1oz sample tub. I hadn’t shown you this before because I didn’t have all three sizes until recently and it was with this product. When I was first looking for Cool Grease stuff all I could find was a 7oz tub of this stuff so I got it. Then a friend of mine in Japan got me the little 1oz tub as a gift when he was finding me some rare Cool Grease products. And finally Tadashi sent me the 3oz tub to review. So now I can show them all to you. First there is the big 7oz tub. This one is the same type as the 3oz tub’s is. But with the 7oz tub, you get a free sticker, which is placed on the lid under the shrink wrap. Then there’s the mini 1oz tub, which is a bit different than the others are. It’s made of plastic like the others, but not the same kind. And it’s not as rounded at the edges and across the top like the bigger tubs are. This one also doesn’t have any color on the labeling. It’s just black and white, and has less info around the tub. As you’d expect it to since it’s a tiny little sample tub. Also, this one doesn’t come shrink wrapped like the bigger ones do, or at least mine didn’t. All of their main products come in these three sizes. Their specialty and limited edition products don’t though. They only come in one size. Now on to the 3oz tub for the review.

It’s the same type of tub as all their other products have come in. Plastic tub with a twist off lid, and the labeling printed right on the tub. This one is a white tub with a black lid though. This is the only difference between this one and all the others which have the same color plastic for the tub and the lid. The design on the lid of this one is very familiar, as you guys can see. In the center is “Cock ⚡️ Grease” just below a white and red rooster. The company name is below that, and “water type” inside a little water drop is just to the right d it. Around the rooster it says “High Quality Hair Pomade Xxtra Hard” in white letters. And then on either side of him it says “Keep it up! All day!! Try it! You’ll like it!!” Also in white letters. The layout and design is very similar to Cock Grease’s labels. Or Cock Grease’s is very similar to this one. However you want to look at it.

 

The side of the tub is similar to their other ones layout wise. In the center it says “Cock ⚡️ Grease Xxtra Hard” in a black oval. On either side of the oval is a rooster. Then there’s the familiar box that has a bunch of info inside it, just like all the other ones have. And finally there’s the company info and some little tag lines. All of their tubs have pretty much this exact same layout, with the obvious design and color differences. As well as the tag lines and stuff being different for each product. I’m not quite sure how I feel about the two tone tub though. It feels a little mix matched to me, but it also looks kind of cool and goes with the labeling. 

  

When you open the lid you see the familiar plastic disc covering the product. For a while I thought this was exclusive to Cool Grease, but I’ve seen a couple other Japanese products with this same plastic disc. However, not all products from Japan have it, and some products from other Asian countries also have them. I’m not really sure why they put these on there though. And I don’t know why none of the US companies put these discs on their products. I kind of don’t really care for them though, because they always get product stuck to them. Then you have to wipe it all of there so it doesn’t go to waste. I think it would be easier to just not have them in the tubs. The product itself is a bright yellow color, and looks to be about the same texture as their XX stuff is. The scent of it is a nice sweet pineapple scent, and you barely notice the familiar chemical type scent in there that most ringing gels have. The pineapple does a really nice job of masking that to where you don’t really smell it much. I quite like this scent! I think it’s my favorite out of all the Cool Grease products so far. 

 

Scooping it out was a lot like scooping out their XX too. This one seems to have a slightly more firm texture to it though. However, it was easier to scoop out of the tub. I’m not sure how that was possible, but that’s what happened. As you can see I was able to get a bigger scoop than usual from the tub. Even though it has a pretty firm texture and thick consistency to it. You really get to smell the pineapple when you scoop it out and break it down in your hands. That’s where I noticed the difference between this and XX. This one doesn’t spread around quite as easily, and has a much tackier feel to it. It also has a slight dry feel to it, kind of like their Flat/green tub does.

Even applying it you notice the slightly dry feel that it has to it. However, it’s not nearly as dry feeling as their Flat/green tub is. It is slightly challenging to apply and distribute in your hair. The product wanted to kind of stick on the top of my hair mostly. I ended up having to get another small scoop out to get the back side of my hair and back of my head. The first time you run your comb through your hair, or try to anyway, is kind of tough. The thick tacky texture of this stuff makes the first pass a bit hard. Once you get that first combing done though, it becomes much easier to comb around and disperse into your hair. The whole time you’re combing you still feel that dryness to it though. It’s not as dry feeling as the Flat/green tub, but it is definitely noticeable. It doesn’t take too long to get it all dispersed into your hair though, despite the application and slightly hard combing.

 

This stuff can give you crazy lift too! I was able to comb my hair up really tall. It pretty much went straight up, but I was able to round out the top part of my hair fairly nicely. It did kind of make my hair go more into a point/cone shape though. I’m not going to leave my hair this tall, because I never wear it this tall. Plus, I wasn’t able to get it into a nice enough shape to make an exception and leave it there. 

  

Once I recombed my hair into a lower style I was able to get a much nicer shape and look to it. The only thing about this stuff is that it doesn’t quite tame my cowlick for some reason. Even though it has a real firm texture and heavy hold to it, it wouldn’t take my cowlick. It also allowed my hair to split along the comb lines on the side of my head a little bit. It wasn’t terrible, but it acted more like a light hair dressing instead of the heavy ringing gel that it is. It was very odd to see it perform this way, but it didn’t look bad, so I left it. This stuff does give my hair a nice shine to it as well. It’s hard to see in this picture, but the other picture shows the shine nicely. Unlike most ringing gels, this one sets up really quickly. Or at least it seemed to. It may have been due to me styling my hair twice and recombing it after it had started to set up. I barely got my hair in place before it started to harden. And this one does harden quite a bit unfortunately. It hardens the most out of any of the Cool Grease products. And almost feels like a soft gel does when it hardens. Leaves your hair with a crunchy feel to it, and kind of gel-met feel too. I was pretty surprised at how much this stuff hardened up. Mainly because all their other products either don’t harden at all, or only slight gum up, but don’t really harden/crunch up. The scent seemed to disappear once my hair had set up too. I was pretty bummed about this, because it was pretty strong and present when I was styling my hair and I quite like this one’s scent. So I was hoping it would last all day long, but it disappears completely fairly fast. 

  

The hold stays nicely all day long too. My hair only tilted to the right a tiny bit, but seemed to stay exactly where it was at everywhere else. That’s definitely a plus, especially for days when you need your hair to stay in place for hours. Hardening up the way it does makes recombing your hair impossible. Well at least without either adding water or breaking up the crunchiness. And if you break it up, you will get lots of little flakes and your hair will have a matte look to it and get kind of poofy. This stuff performs kind of like the way a soft gel topped with hair spray does. When you add water to it, you get a few flakes at first, but they go away quickly. However, you lose a lot of the hold/height to your hair when you recomb with water. So I’d advise not recombing your hair with this stuff. It holds well all day, so you shouldn’t need to.

Like all the other Cool Grease products I’ve tried so far, this one comes out with just a little water. What sets this one apart is that it kind of conditions your hair while it’s in your hair. My hair was so soft and silky feeling when I got out of the shower and dried it. I was really shocked to see this happen! I’ve only had one or two other water based products do this to my hair, and neither were a ringing gel. Usually these products dry out your hair and scalp, but this one didn’t at all. It did the opposite and made my hair feel softer than it was before I used it. I’m definitely happy with that from this product!

The next morning I noticed that my hair wasn’t as soft as it was the night before. I’m not sure how that happened, but my hair seemed to dry out over night. Maybe it only felt soft while it was slightly damp and freshly dry. And the product took its toll on my hair over the course of the night. It’s almost like it took 8 hours to do what other ringing gels do in 8 minutes. It wasn’t super dried out, but my hair was noticeably more dry than the night before. It felt soft again when I sprayed my hair with water, but as soon as it dried, my hair didn’t feel soft anymore. Not sure what’s up with this, but I don’t think I like it.

  

That also made applying and combing in the product even more difficult than the first day. And it seemed to set up even quicker once I got my hair styled too. I tested out the height again, but tried to get a better shape this time. I was able to make it look a bit better and less pointy this time. However, my hair set up before I could even finish styling it up this high. I was able to get a better shape to it, but there was a small split right in the center that just wouldn’t stick together for some reason. I wasn’t able to recomb it lower until I sprayed my hair with some water. And when I did that, I lost pretty much all the hold and control. My hair wouldn’t stay in a pomp, I kept getting splits all over, and strands would keep separating and falling down out of place. No matter how much I combed it, my hair wouldn’t stay in any place/shape/style that I tried. I ended up just rinsing my hair out and putting on a hat. When I did that, I noticed my hair got real soft and silky smooth again. And, I have no idea how this happened either, the curly areas of my hair and on my hair line were super straight. It looked like someone had taken a flat iron straightener to my hair. It was really really weird! Even my wife commented about how strange it was that my hair was like that. I wasn’t complaining about it though, I was kind of stoked haha. I don’t like my curls and wish my hair was more straight. So I relished in the temporary little perk this stuff gave me. A couple hours after my hair had dried though, it went back to feeling dried out again. Not much more than it did before, but I did notice a slight difference. So I just threw on a hat and called it good.

I’ve got to say, this stuff has me on the fence about it. There are obvious perks to it, but there are also some things I didn’t really care for all that much. I think I need to use it a few more times to really decide if I like it a lot, or just a little bit. I do like it though, and would recommend it to all of you water based users out there. It’s definitely a unique product, and has some interesting properties and performance aspects to it. Now as I said up at the beginning of the review, this stuff has been changed to Cool Grease XXX, and the labeling is now different. However, I have heard that the XXX performs differently than this one, and has undergone some formula changes. So I will be reviewing that one as well to see if that’s true or not. I was going to skip that one and just show you guys a picture of it here at the bottom, but when I heard those things, I knew I had to do a review of it to see for myself and show y’all what the differences are, if there are in fact any at all. If it ends up being the same, that’s fine, but if it’s different than you need to know. Anyway, to get ahold of this one, you’ll have to do some hunting on the Internet. I believe there are some websites that do still have some stock of it left out there. However, since the XXX is basically the same, or exactly the same, as this one, I would just get some from Tadashi. Head on over to his website http://www.hedgelion.com to get yourself a tub of it. He has a lot of the other cool grease products up on his site too, so if there are others you want to try, get them from him. He also carries all sorts of other pomades and grooming products, including the ones I make. So browse around while you’re on there and pick up a few things! He offers free shipping too, so you can’t not get some stuff! Many thanks again to my good buddy Tadashi for sending this out to me to review! I appreciate it very much my friend! I will be reviewing the Cool Grease comb for him and you guys next by the way. And it’s gonna be up very soon! I started using it with this stuff, so stay tuned to see how that comb holds up to my tests. Catch you guys later!

Cheers,

-JC

3 comments on “Cool Grease – Cock Grease

  1. mati13u says:

    Hi
    I’m reading your blog for some time and it’s very cool!
    Now i starting with pomades and i have question: Can You recommend pomade for first? (i’m blond and i don’t want too much shine 😉 )
    I’m from Poland so i can not all brands (but i can: High life; schmiere; dax; layrite; reuzel; murrays; shiner; pomp and co; black and white)
    Mateusz
    Nice tattoos! 🙂

    • Hello,

      Thank you very much! I’m glad you like it. Yeah, I’d recommend Steel Toe Pomade, Sodapomp, Silver Dollar Pomade, Frankengrease, and Kustom Brew medium and heavy holds. You can find them on http://www.etsy.com 🙂
      Hope that helps! Stay tuned for some awesome new products coming up soon!

      -JC

  2. Matthew says:

    If You Have Very Dry Hair And Its Very Wavy, Would This Product Help Me Get That Nice, Non Wavy, Slick and Straight Hair?

Leave a Reply

