Lucky 13 – Junior’s Gel

Alright water soluble fans, I’m back with another one for you guys. After having this stuff for a while and not trying it I figured now’s the time. Besides it’s been forever since I checked out a Lucky 13 product. Let’s see how this gel holds up, shall we?
  

It comes in the same 4 ounce clear plastic jar as the Swagger Cream does. It also has the same type labeling, one on the lid, and one that wraps around the jar. The lid label is a fighting cock in front of an orange bar which sits on top of tan and off white rays. The rooster has boxing gloves on, which is why I said fighting cock, for those of you who don’t know about cock fighting. In the orange bar it says “holds and shines” to the left of the rooster, and “washes right out” to the right of him. Below the rooster is “Junior’s” in varsity style lettering, and “gel pomade” in plain text. To the right of that is the Lucky 13 logo, and the Murray’s company name. For those of you who don’t know, all the Lucky 13 products were made by Murray’s. Lastly, above the rooster it says “for that one – two punch over the weekend” in the same plain text as below the rooster. As for the side label, it has the exact same design as the lid label in the center of it, with the exception of the company logo being to the left of the rooster this time. To the right of the design is the company info, the ingredients list, and some aspects of the product. To the left of the design is the barcode, directions, and a blurb about the product. I’ve always liked this label a lot. It has a cool design to it, and I really like the color scheme. It’s not a usual combination of colors and images that you see. And I think that’s part of what makes me like it as much as I do.

  

Opening the jar up, you see the red goop inside that you could kind of see from the outside. It has a very very shiny surface to it, and kind of looks like it is a softer gel. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any gel as shiny as this on the surface before. Well, apart from soft gels, but this one isn’t like that. This one is by far the shiniest one I’ve seen out of any ringing gel or premium gel that I’ve ever come across. I’m really hoping that will come into play when using this stuff. The smell of this one is a pretty familiar scent. It reminds me a lot of Uppercut’s ringing gel, or the Admiral ringing gel I reviewed. That kind of slightly fruity scent that’s not very strong. This one doesn’t smell as chemically as those two did though. In fact, you have to really smell it to get even the slightest hint of that familiar ringing gel chemical type scent. And to be honest, I’m very glad it’s so faint in this one. I’ve never been a big fan of that scent. So it’s nice when products either don’t have it, or you can barely smell it in them.

  

Scooping it out was slightly difficult to my surprise. Now, I don’t mean it was a very firm gel that was hard to scoop. What I mean is, it was very slippery and had a watery layer on the outside when I scooped it out. That combined with the type of jar and how low it was filled, really made it a challenge to get a decent scoop out. I’ve never come across a gel doing this before either. I have to say, it was quite odd to see, or feel rather, this when I went to scoop it out. I’m really hoping that this doesn’t affect the hold, or that the product has degraded/broken down over time or started to separate or something. I guess I’ll find out in just a minute what the deal is.

When I started to work it around in my palms the water texture went away and it became pretty firm and tacky. It felt much more heavy that I was expecting from how it scooped out. Once I had worked it around I felt a lot better that this stuff hadn’t broken down over time. It didn’t feel like ringing gels do when they start to fall apart, but rather like it was still good. I still don’t know what the watery texture was all about though. As I applied it to my hair I was surprised again by this stuff. It went in much easier than it should have based on the heaviness it had in my hands. It actually went in more like a lighter medium ringing gel, rather than the heavy it felt like in my hands. Combing it was also really easy, and it went in evenly pretty quick too. I quite liked how it combed as well, it feels like it is going to have nice hold and be easy to style. I also noticed that this stuff has a fair amount of shine to it. Almost as much as a pomade does. That is always a good thing when it comes to gel products since they usually don’t have much shine to them, if any at all.

  

Just as I thought, this one was really easy to style and gave me decent hold. I wasn’t able to get my hair as rounded outward as I wanted, but I did get a fairly round shape to my hair. As well as some decent height and nice control. I didn’t have a bunch of stray hairs or flyaways, and it did a great job of keeping my cowlicks in check too. Plus, as you can see, the shine is really nice as well. It looks more like I have a pomade in my hair, rather than a gel. Even the way it left my hair looking was more like I had a pomade in it. So far I’m digging this stuff quite a bit.

Another awesome thing about this stuff is that it doesn’t harden up. After about an hour I felt my hair and it wasn’t hardened at all, not even gummy feeling. It sets up a lot like Cool Grease in the blue tub does.the hold on this one lasts nicely throughout the day as well. My hair didn’t seem to move any, and my cowlicks hadn’t shown through either. I was really happy about that, because I had expected them to since it didn’t harden or gum up at all. I figured after a little while they would open up a bit, but they didn’t. The shine also stayed all day long too. At the end of day one I have to say I’m pretty impressed with this stuff. It really did a great job all around.

The next morning I jumped in the shower and washed this stuff out of my hair. And just as I had expected, it came out with just a little bit of water. My hair did feel a bit dried out though once I rinsed it all out of my hair. I decided not to put any conditioner in my hair, just so I could see exactly how much my hair was dried out. To my surprise, once I dried my hair off, it didn’t feel dried out much at all. Only slightly, like I had used a deep cleansing shampoo or something. It wasn’t nearly as bad as a lot of other ringing gels leave it. As I went about using it for the second time, I was met with virtually a repeat of day one. The only real difference I noticed between the two days was that I got a tiny bit more of a forward doo. I was able to bring it forward a little bit more that on the first day. Everything else seemed to be the exact same as the first day though. From the scoop, to application, and the lasting hold and control it had again. I’m really starting to like this stuff quite a bit. At the end of the second day I washed it out of my hair and felt to see if it dried it out more. Surprisingly, it hadn’t dried my hair out more at all. It felt the same as it did after I got out of the shower that morning. Usually these products progressively dry your hair out as the days go on when you use it. However, every once in a while a product doesn’t do that. This stuff is one of those that doesn’t, and I was very happy to see that it wasn’t.

After using it for a couple days, I have to say I really dig this stuff. The only thing that was odd about it was that watery texture it had. It’s not a big deal at all though, as it had no effect whatsoever on the products performance at all. I still have no idea why it was like that, but I guess it doesn’t really matter. This stuff is definitely a product I recommend trying out, even if you aren’t a water based fan. It really performs more like a pomade than a ringing gel in just about every aspect. Really, the texture is the only difference, and that’s easy to get past. The only downfall is that this product has since been discontinued. So it’s going to be harder and harder to find some as time goes on. I do know that some places still have some stock of it though. So if I were you, I’d snag a jar or two while you still can. It is definitely worth the money to have this stuff. I know I will be trying to get myself a few more jars of this stuff before it’s gone for good. It’s kind of a bummer that they’re no longer making the Lucky 13 products. They were/are really good products. Anyway, snag yourself some of this one if you can, you won’t regret it.

Stay slick,

-JC

Leave a Reply

