Reuzel – Pink Can

Hello readers! I’m back with the final installment of the Reuzel line. After checking out the two ringing gels and their medium pomade, all that was left was their heavy pomade. A few months back my friends over at Reuzel sent me this stuff to review, along with some awesome stickers. I want to thank them again for sending me this and all the other things they’ve sent me. I really appreciate it guys! Alright, now let’s dig in to the pink!

Just like the other cans, this one has the same style labeling, only with the color change, and some minor text differences to it. The text change it has is down at the bottom where it says “grease heavy hold.” Other than that, it’s exactly the same as the other cans are. And I have to say, I think I like this one the best out of the four different colors. It’s just a really cool shade of pink.


One thing I noticed when looking at all 3 of the cans, was that each can is a slightly different shade of pink. Now they’re all pretty close to each other, but as you can see, there are slight variations in the shades of each can. I’m not sure exactly why that is, maybe because they were pressed at different times, or maybe the ink was different, or its just the sizes of the cans that makes the difference. I’m not 100% sure, but it is kind of cool to see the different shades when they’re laid out next to each other like that.


Another thing I wanted to show you guys was the difference of the bottom on the small can. As I stated in the green can review, the medium and large cans have the same layout and whatnot on the bottom, but the small one is different. And because I already had so many pics in the green can review, I waited until this review to show you guys the difference. As you can see, this one doesn’t have the extra symbols, or the ring around the edge of the tan part like the two bigger cans do. Also, the barcode is moved down to the very bottom of the can instead of in the center of it. All the text seems to be the same, save for the text that is in the ring on the bigger cans. That text has been moved to the top, and is worded slightly different. Otherwise, all of the text seemed to be the same as it is on the bigger cans. I left the medium can turned upside down in the background so you could kind of see the difference in the layout. Now I think I’ve covered all aspects of all the cans and sizes for you guys. Back to the product at hand!


Opening up this can you see an off white, waxy looking pomade, with a slight shine to the surface. It actually looks a little bit like frozen or chilled lard. Knowing these guys, I don’t think that was an accident. On the surface, it doesn’t look like it’s going to be that much heavier than the green can was, but only time will tell for sure. Often times, as I’ve said before, you can tell quite a bit about a pomade just by looking at it. However, sometimes they can deceive you and be different from how they look. Usually they are how they look though. The scent of this one is kind of like the green one’s. What I mean is, it’s quite feminine and reminds me of a women’s product, just like the green one did. But again, this one has a really good scent to it! It’s kind of a sweet, powdery, floral, fruity scent. It has quite a few notes all mixed in together. You first smell the sweet floral notes blended together, then you get the powdery note, and finally a tiny hint of sweet fruit. I’m not sure exactly what fruit it is, but it’s definitely a fruity note. I’ve heard some people say it has a bubble gum scent to it, but it doesn’t really. Well, maybe if it was a flowery powdery gum, but it doesn’t smell like traditional bubble gum.


Upon scooping this stuff out, I was right about the lard look. It scooped out like really cold lard would. It has a waxy texture to it, but it’s kind of a creamy waxy texture. I know that’s a bit oxymoronic, but that’s how it is. You can see in the picture what I mean. It doesn’t have either of the usual looks that waxy pomades do when you scoop them out. And at the same time, it doesn’t look like a grease does either, and it’s got a smooth texture to it. It’s actually quite unique! I don’t know if I’ve ever come across a pomade yet that scoops the way this one does. I think maybe the closest one would be that black Crown pomade I tried a while back. But this one is still different from that one. One thing I noticed when I scooped it out, was that the sweet fruity note became much more present and noticeable. It was kind of buried beneath the other notes in the tin, but when you scoop it out, that note gets nice and strong. It evens out with the strength of the other notes nicely. This one seems a bit more feminine than the green can does, but I think I like this scent better than the green can’s. I’m not entirely sure yet though. I need to test it out for a few days to be positive. I am still a little perplexed by these scents though. It just caught me off guard smelling feminine scents in men’s pomades. Even thought they are both fantastic scents, and I like them a lot! And I’m glad they went with these scents, because they’re some of my favorites. It’s just a bit odd to me that they have these scents is all. I totally expected masculine or neutral scents like their ringing gel ones have. Still, I love this scent either way.

It breaks down in your hands a little bit easier than you’d expect it to and has a nice creamy feel to it. Now it is still heavy and waxy, but it also has a creamy texture to it as well. And kind of feels a little bit like chilled lard at this stage also. It makes me laugh. Whether it was on purpose or accident it’s a totally cool pun to go with the name of the pomade. Applying it to your hair is a bit harder than you’d expect from how it feels broken down in your hands. It goes is kind of like Murray’s or a really waxy pomade, and tugs at your hairs a little. However, it doesn’t just stay on top of your hair like a lot of really waxy pomades do. This one is actually quite easy to spread evenly throughout your hair with your hands. The comb through is exactly what you’d expect from how it applies though. It takes a decent amount of effort to run your comb through your hair with this pomade in. I did notice that it pulled out quite a few of my hairs too. I had kind of expected that though from how it went in. It wasn’t as bad as some heavy pomades do, but there was still a lot of hairs stuck in my comb after the first pass. One thing I did like is that it didn’t keep pulling a bunch of hairs out like some pomades do. After the first pass, only a few other hairs came out, which was nice. And I noticed that this one seems to have a decent amount of shine to it for a heavy pomade. Now I haven’t styled my hair yet, so I don’t know if it will stay, but after combing it all in my hair, there was a nice sheen to this stuff.


I was quite pleased with how my hair turned out too. I was able to get nice height, and it had decent control too. There wasn’t a bunch of stray hairs or hairs sticking straight out, like with other heavy pomades. I’m pretty sure the creaminess it has is what helped in that area. This pomade isn’t as dry as many heavy pomades are, which is often what makes the hairs go astray. The shine seemed to stay pretty well also. It’s kind of hard to tell in this picture, but the other pictures you can see the shine a lot better. I was also really liking how the scent was once I styled my hair up too. It took on more of a sweet fruity and powdery scent and lost the floral notes a bit. It also seemed to get a little bit stronger or more present once it was in my hair. It filled up my whole bathroom, and even when I walked out of the bathroom I could easily smell the pomade in my hair.


In this picture you can see the shine a lot better, and like I was saying, it has a decent amount of shine to it for a heavy. It’s almost as shiny as a medium pomade is. I took this picture about two hours after I styled my hair, and I noticed that some of my comb lines had opened up a little bit. It wasn’t bad, but you can definitely see them a little bit more than when I first styled my hair. There was really only one that had opened up a lot, and it’s right where one of my natural parts is. I often have problems with that area opening up as the day goes on. I’ve learned to just deal with it and recomb it closed when I need to. Even after two hours I could still smell this pomade pretty strong in my hair too. This one lingers a lot longer than the green can does for sure. And I think I do like this scent better than the green one’s. However, I still think the blue can is my favorite scent out of the four. There’s just something about that scent that hits a note with me.


At the end of the day I snapped another picture real quick to see how my hair had held up. I was very pleased to see that my hair seemed to be in the exact same place as it was in the morning! The only real difference I noticed was that my cowlick had split open. Other than that, I didn’t see any other areas that had opened up, drooped or fallen down, or moved at all. I was really happy with that! I didn’t even have to recomb my hair once either. This pomade really did a great job of holding my hair in place all day long. Now, I was pretty much inside all day, except for a couple times I went outside for just a few minutes. So I will have to see how it holds up when I’m outside more than that, but still, it held great throughout the day. And the shine seemed to be a little more present at the end of the day too. I hope that carries over with the buildup and day two makes for a real shiny look. Even the scent lasted all day. I could still smell my hair pretty easily that evening. Now it wasn’t as strong, but I was still getting whiffs of it that night. So far I’m really liking this pomade a lot. I’m very curious to see how the buildup is on this one too. The texture and way it performs doesn’t really give me a good idea how the buildup will be, so I’m pretty anxious to see what that’s like tomorrow.

Surprisingly, the buildup with this stuff wasn’t that heavy. Instead, it was quite light and oily when I woke up. After I took a shower most of the oily feel had gone away and I was left with about half of the pomade still in my hair. I was pretty surprised at this since it’s a heavier pomade. I had expected it to stick in my hair more, like most heavy pomades do. However, I did like the feel of the buildup in my hair quite a bit. It wasn’t too much, and my hair was left feeling quite nice. Also, I was actually able to get a nice style going right out of the shower. I didn’t even need to add any pomade to get a nice looking lower pomp going. And it still had really good control to it as well. I didn’t have a bunch of strays or anything like that. So really, if you wanted to, you could go without adding any pomade to your hair the second day and still look good. I decided to add a little bit to my hair for the sake of the review.

Applying it the second day was a little bit easier to my relief. The lighter buildup allows for much easier application and combing. There is still the resistance you get with heavier pomades, but it wasn’t nearly as much as the first day. The buildup in my hair seemed to kind of smooth out the fresh pomade I was adding in, and make it much easier to comb through. I didn’t really notice any increase in height this time, but I did have better control for sure. My cowlick didn’t open up and I didn’t have any comb lines separate either. The shine was also a little bit more pronounced the second day. There wasn’t a big difference, but I could tell that there was more shine. It looked more like how my hair did at the end of the first day. Which makes me think, that possibly by the end of today my hair could be really shiny. If it does the same thing it did yesterday that is.

Just like the first day, this pomade kept my hair in place all day long. And it did an even better job the second day. I didn’t see any comb lines open up, and my cowlick wasn’t showing either. Definitely pleased with the longevity of this pomades hold! Not many pomades hold all day like this for me. So when I get one that does, I become very enthused about it. The shine however, didn’t follow suit from the first day. It seemed to be the same at the end of the day as it was at the beginning. Which is totally fine with me, because it’s a great amount of shine. Plus, if I ever want more, I can always add a topper to it. The scent definitely was stronger the second day. I could really smell this pomade in my hair easily at the end of the day. It didn’t die down like it did on the first day. I was a little surprised by that, because usually the scent of a pomade does the same thing each day. Not this one, it stays almost just as strong as when you first apply it until the end of the day. I’m not sure why that happened, because my hair didn’t have any scent to it when I got out of the shower. Nonetheless, I was still happy about it, because I really like this scent a lot. Day two was a smashing success with this pomade. There wasn’t one downfall to it at all on the second day.

The next morning before I got in the shower, I decided to try and style my hair. Just to see what would happen, as the buildup was really heavy. Almost like none of the pomade had come out of my hair at all during the night. To my surprise, even with really crazy bed head, I was able to style a fairly decent doo. Now I didn’t get much height, but I was able to style a low profile pomp without having a bunch of gaps, or stray hairs, or messy parts at all. It did what the old High Life light does for my hair. So if you ever have to skip a shower the third morning, you’ll be ok, as this stuff allows you to get a decent style going. And it stays too! I didn’t get in the shower for over an hour after I combed my hair, and my hair was still looking good. The only thing I didn’t like was that it gets really oily the third day. Just barely touching my hair made my hand feel super oily. So I wouldn’t go too long before hopping in the shower, unless you’re ok with oily hair, then you’re fine to go all day. Personally, I don’t like an overly oily feel to my hair, so I washed it off pretty quickly. And almost all of the oil comes out when you wash your hair. However, you can still feel a little bit in there after your shower. The buildup is much heavier the third day as well. I’d say at least 80% of the pomade was still in my hair. So I didn’t even add any the third day, I just styled my hair and went about my day. With it being a bit oily, you do lose a little control the third day, but not much. It was kind of like how the first day was. I had some comb lines open a little, and I also had a couple strands that kept falling down. They were on the side of my head though, so it wasn’t too bad. I could easily comb them back in, or tuck them behind my ear. I also did lose a little height the third day, as well as some shine. It wasn’t much, but I did notice the difference. If I had added just a little pomade though, I think the shine would have been the same as day two. By the end of the day I did lose more control and had a couple spots that just didn’t want to stay in place. But like I said, I think that’s due to me not touching up my hair with a little pomade. However, it could be just how this pomade performs on the third day. I won’t know for sure until I test it out like this again. Although I did see some downfalls on day three, I still think it was a success. My hair didn’t completely come apart, and for the most part, the buildup held my style pretty well throughout the day. I think next time I will wash my hair a second time to get all the oil out and then add just a tiny bit of pomade to touch my hair up. I think that will help make it more like day two was.

All in all, I really like this pomade a lot. There were only a couple tiny things that happened. This stuff is definitely a pomade I highly recommend you guys get and try out. It really works great. Many thanks again to my friends at the Reuzel company for sending me this pomade to review. I really did enjoy it a lot, and I had fun reviewing it. This will for sure be a pomade I use again and again in the future. To get yourself a can, head over to http://www.reuzelpomade.com While you’re there, check out their new products! They have 5 new products in bottles, and two new beard products. I’m very excited to try out the new hair tonics and the new shampoos. Grab yourself a can of this stuff as soon as possible, and try some of their other products as well. They really are great products and well worth the money. Well that concludes the cans, I’ll see you guys next time when I start the bottled product reviews!

Keep it greasy,

-JC

This entry was posted in Pomades.

Leave a Reply

